Journal Logo

Editorial Board

Jeremy R. Chapman

​​​​​​​​​​​Executive Editors
Carla C. Baan
Jonathan S. Bromberg
Edward K. Geissler
Bruce Kaplan
Jean C. Emond
Stefan G. Tullius

Deputy Editors
Ignacio Anegon
Daniel C. Brennan
Anita S. Chong
Francois Durand
Peter Friend
Christophe Legendre
Nancy Kwan Man
Kazunari Tanabe
Helio Tedesco Silva, Jr.

Managing Editor
Craig Lincoln​

Assisting Managing Editor
Andrew Clarke

Social Media Editor
Macey L. Henderson

Editorial Assistant
Kellyanna Atwell

Associate Editors
Jan Abicht
Joel Thomas Adler
Hatem Amer
Dany Anglicheau
Robin Avery
Markus Barten
Thierry Berney
George W. Burke
Robert Cannon
Marcelo Cantarovich
Steven James Chadban
Albert C.Y. Chan
Uwe Christians
Mary Amanda Dew
Frank J.M.F. Dor
Elke Eggenhofer
usumu Eguchi
Stephan Ensminger
Eric Epailly
Marta Farrero
James Findlay
Paolo Fiorina
Constantino Fondevila
John Forrester
John Friedewald
Steven Gabardi
Tom Gallagher
Jens Goebel
Gabriel E. Gondolesi
Pierre-Antoine Gourraud
Shane T. Grey
Carole Guillonneau
Susan Gunderson
Sundaram Hariharan
Raymond L. Heilman
Sarah Hosgood
Kirsten Howard
Martin Howell
Atul Humar
James Alexander Hutchinson
Fadi Issa
Wayel Jassem
Ina Jochmans
Michelle Josephson
Christina Kaufman
Tatsuo Kawai
Karen Keung
Peri Kocabayoglu
Camille Nelson Kotton
Deepali Kumar

Dirk R. Kuypers
Xian Chang Li
Qizhou Lian
Keri Elizabeth Lunsford
Xunrong Luo
Stephen Marks
Dominique E. Martin
Olivia Martinez
Valeria R. Mas
Dan Meyer
Thalachallour Mohanakumar
Maarten Naesens
David Neujahr
Douglas J. Norman
Giuseppe Orlando
Suetonia Palmer
Steven Paraskevas
Gavin Pettigrew
Emilio Poggio
Eberhard L. Renner
Manuel Rodriguez-Davalos
Natasha Rogers
Erin Rubin
Faouzi Saliba
Gonzalo Sapisochin
Carrie A. Schinstock
Andrea Schlegel
Nazia Selzner
A.M. James Shapiro
Mary Ann Simpson
Nina Singh
Banu Sis
Jon Snyder
Laurie Snyder
Wiebke Sommer
Peter G. Stock
Simone I. Strasser
Caner Suesal
Yasuhiko Sugawara
Qizhi Tang
Takanori Teshima
Angus W. Thomson
Allison Tong
Anna Valujskikh
Gebhard Wagener
Eckhard Wolf
Germaine Wong
Kenneth J. Woodside
Heidi Yeh
Yuan Zhai
Emmanuel Zorn

Edito​rs' Advisory Council
J. Andrew Bradley
Leslie Brent
Francis L. Delmonico
Mark A. Hardy
Anthony P. Monaco
Peter J. Morris
James Neuberger
Philip O'Connell
David H. Sachs
Manikkam Suthanthiran
Kathryn J. Wood

Jeremy Chapman, AC, MD, FRACP, FRCP

Westmead Hospital and University of Sydney
Sydney, NSW, Australia

I am a nephrologist with a lifelong interest in clinical and experimental transplantation, trained in Cambridge, London, and Oxford before moving to Australia in 1987. I served as Director of Western Sydney Renal Services and Director of Medicine and Cancer until 2019. I am a past President of The Transplantation Society and the World Marrow Donor Association, a founding co-chair of the Declaration of Istanbul, and Chair of the Australian Bone Marrow Donor Registry.


Carla C. Baan, PhD

Erasmus Medical Center
Rotterdam, The Netherlands

I am Head of the Nephrology & Transplantation Laboratory at Erasmus Medical Center, University Hospital Rotterdam, The Netherlands. The position involves the supervision of doctorate research related to the role of cytokines, T cells and B cells, and immunosuppressive drugs in clinical organ transplantation. The primary objective of my research is to develop and exploit new technologies for the diagnosis of transplant rejection using blood and urinary biomarkers. I am a member of TTS, ESOT, ISHLT, and the Dutch Transplant Society.


Jonathan S. Bromberg, MD, PhD

University of Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

I have been involved in basic cellular and molecular transplant immunology for over 25 years, with a focus on T cell immunobiology. I have also maintained an active clinical practice in solid organ transplantation and am constantly exposed to the problems of patients and their immune systems. These research and clinical interests are well suited to one another and well-suited to keeping my professional life current and relevant.


Jean C. Emond, MD

Columbia University and The New York
Presbyterian Hospital
New York, NY

I am a clinical surgeon performing liver transplantation and hepatobiliary surgery. I have had a sustained academic career leading research efforts in liver donor liver transplantation and hepatobiliary oncology. Over the past 25 years, I have trained dozens of liver surgeons and hepatologists who have made contributions in transplant centers throughout the world. I am also a past President of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons.


Edward Geissler, PhD

University Hospital Regensburg
University of Regensburg
Regensburg, Germany

I am a basic scientist working in different areas spanning the field of transplantation, including basic immunology, tolerance, immunosuppressive therapies, and post-transplant malignancy. My experience in transplantation includes research activities for 8 years in the US and nearly 20 years in Europe. My interests focus particularly on translating basic science discoveries into clinical trials that will improve outcomes for organ transplant recipients.


Bruce Kaplan, MD

Baylor Scott and White Health System
Dallas, TX

I have been involved in transplantation for over 25 years. I have extensive experience in the interpretation and analysis of complex data and data sets. I have considerable clinical experience in immunosuppression and in the pharmacology of immunosuppressive agents. I am appreciative of the opportunity over the years to participate and partner with investigators in various editorial roles.


Stefan G. Tullius, MD, PhD

Brigham and Women's Hospital
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

I have worked as a surgeon/scientist in both Europe (Belin) and, since 2005, the US (Boston). I have interest in improving the utilization of organs, a personalized approach to treatment, and the advancement of vascular composite tissue allotransplantation. I see transplantation as a most exciting field with application and innovation around the world. My work on the Executive Council of TTS has provided an opportunity to communicate issues of transplantation effectively to an international community. The Special Features section in Transplantation provides an exceptional opportunity to convey progress and challenges, helping to shape our mind to solve tomorrow's problems.