Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

HJ Report

doi: 10.1097/01.HJ.0000470897.29436.67
HJ Report
Back to Top | Article Outline




The National Academy of Engineering and Ohio University awarded the 2015 Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize to five pioneers in the development of the multichannel cochlear implant:

  • Graeme Clark, MB, MS, PhD, is laureate professor emeritus at the University of Melbourne, honorary professor of electrical engineering at the Melbourne School of Engineering, and director emeritus of the Bionic Ear Institute.
  • Ingeborg Hochmair, PhD, and Erwin Hochmair are cofounders of MED-EL.
  • Michael Merzenich, PhD, is professor emeritus in the Department of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery at the University of California, San Francisco.
  • Blake S. Wilson, DSc, DEng, DrMedHC, is codirector of the Duke Hearing Center at Duke University Medical Center (DUMC), adjunct professor of surgery at DUMC, adjunct professor of electrical and computer engineering and of biomedical engineering at Duke University, and chief strategy advisor for MED-EL.

Established in 1999 and awarded biennially, the Russ Prize recognizes bioengineering achievements that are in widespread use and improve the human condition. It's named after engineer Fritz Russ, who cofounded Systems Research Laboratories, and his wife, Dolores Russ.

Copyright © 2015 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.