Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

ADA Recognizes Achievements in Audiology

Katz, Alissa

doi: 10.1097/01.HJ.0000462433.56868.24
Figure. F

Figure. F

The Academy of Doctors of Audiology (ADA) awarded four leaders in the field for their clinical work, advocacy, and visionary efforts during the ADA 2014 Convention in Las Vegas.

Gregory Frazer, PhD, AuD, received the Leo Doerfler Award in honor of the outstanding clinical services he has provided to his community throughout his career. Dr. Frazer has supplied free audiology services and hearing aids to the Venice Family Clinic in Venice, CA, for about a decade, and he volunteers his time to teach medical residents about hearing loss, dizziness, and hearing aids. The award was created in 2003 and named after the organization's founding president.

The ADA presented Timothy Steele, PhD, with the Advocacy Award in recognition of his work to support the organization's mission and advance the profession of audiology. Dr. Steele owns a multi-practice office in Kansas and contributed to Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins’ (R-KS) decision to introduce the Audiology Patient Choice Act, which would add audiologists to the list of physicians recognized by Medicare.

George Osborne, PhD, DDS, was posthumously awarded the David P. Goldstein Outstanding Audiologist Award, which honors the recipient for promoting audiology's transformation to a doctoral-degree profession, with the AuD as its distinctive designator. Dr. Osborne worked to ensure that audiologists would achieve recognition on par with that of other healthcare professionals, like dentists and optometrists. Victor Bray, PhD, dean of the George S. Osborne School of Audiology at Salus University, accepted the award on Dr. Osborne's behalf.

The ADA honored Rachel Magann Faivre, AuD, with the Student Advocacy Award for her efforts in mobilizing student advocates toward achieving the goals of the 18 x 18 Initiative, which calls for amending Title XVIII of the Social Security Act by 2018. She also helped establish a fundraiser to encourage student donations to the ADA advocacy fund.

Back to Top | Article Outline


The Academy of Doctors of Audiology also awarded four students in the second annual ADA Student Business Plan Competition.

Rachel Otto and Efoe Femi Nyatepe-Coo of Northwestern University won first place and a $5,000 grant for their prospective practice, Edgewater Hearing & Tinnitus Center. Brooke Means of Auburn University earned second place with her business plan for Habersham Hearing Doctors, LLC, and Danielle O'Neil of the University of South Florida was recognized with third place for her proposed practice, Pikes Peak Hearing and Balance.

In order to be eligible for the competition, students had to be in their third or fourth year of an AuD program at an accredited university. Contestants developed a written executive summary and business plan, which was judged on creativity, feasibility, and professionalism, among other standards.

The judges included Andrew Hebert, vice president of EarQ; Ronald Gleitman, PhD, vice president of business development for Siemens Hearing Instruments; and Anne Orsene, AuD, executive director of Hearing Evaluation Services of Buffalo.

Back to Top | Article Outline


Kim Cavitt, AuD, was elected to serve as ADA president for 2015, and Rita Chaiken, AuD, became president-elect for the upcoming program year.

Dr. Cavitt runs her own audiology consulting firm, Audiology Resources, in Chicago. She also is a member of the Illinois Board of Speech–Language Pathology/Audiology and an adjunct lecturer at Northwestern University.

Dr. Chaiken serves as a consultant for Atlanta Hearing Associates, a private practice in Georgia, and is an adjunct professor of audiology at Salus University. Dr. Chaiken owned and operated her own private audiology practice for 12 years and was a regional manager for a hearing instrument manufacturer for three years. She's been an ADA member since 1981 and a member of the Board of Directors since 2010.

Copyright © 2015 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.