Share this article on:

Nominations Invited for Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research

doi: 10.1097/01.COT.0000368003.70823.9a

Johnson & Johnson is inviting nominations for the $100,000 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research, which recognizes scientists whose efforts have made significant transformational contributions toward the improvement of human health. The deadline is February 15, and further information is available at

The award, started by Johnson & Johnson in 2004, is named for Dr. Paul Janssen, the founder of Janssen Pharmaceutica, NV, who was known as “Dr. Paul,” and who along with his scientific achievements in pain management, psychiatry, infectious disease, and gastroenterology has some 100 patents to his name.

Last year's winner was Axel Ullrich, PhD, Director of Molecular Biology at Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, recognized for pioneering work in applying molecular biology and molecular cloning to the discovery of protein therapeutics for the treatment of cancer, diabetes, and other diseases. The 2008 Award was shared by Professor Marc Feldmann and Emeritus Professor Sir Ravinder Maini of Imperial College London for their role in the discovery of tumor necrosis factor-alpha.

A news release notes that the winner is chosen by an independent selection committee chaired by Solomon Snyder, MD, Distinguished Service Professor of Neuroscience, Pharmacology, and Psychiatry at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.

Also on the committee is Dr. Ullrich and the 2006 award winner, Craig Mello, PhD, the 2006 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine, who is Professor of Molecular Medicine and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) investigator at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, along with:

  • Mary-Claire King, PhD, American Cancer Society Professor of Medicine and Genome Sciences, University of Washington.
  • Jean-Marie Lehn, PhD, College de France and 1987 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry.
  • Robert Langer, ScD, David H. Koch Institute Professor of Chemical Engineering, MIT.
  • Sir Richard Sykes, PhD, Chair of NHS London and former CEO of GlaxoWellcome.
  • Huda Zoghbi, MD, Professor of Pediatrics, Neuroscience, and Molecular and Human Genetics and an HHMI investigator and Director of the Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Baylor College of Medicine.

The winner of the 2010 award will be announced this summer.

© 2010 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.
Home  Clinical Resource Center
Current Issue       Search OT
Archives Get OT Enews
Blogs Email us!