Journal Logo



doi: 10.1097/01.COT.0000290052.27134.3a
  • Free

The Institute of Medicine has added 65 new members and five foreign associates, including the following 11 individuals whose work involves cancer:

  • Nancy C. Andrews, MD, PhD, George R. Minot Professor of Pediatrics in the Department of Hematology/Oncology at Children's Hospital Boston.
  • Linda B. Buck, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Associate Director for Basic Sciences at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and Affiliate Professor in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Washington.
  • Graham A. Colditz, MD, DrPH, Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and an epidemiologist in the Department of Medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital.
  • Chi Van Dang, MD, PhD, Johns Hopkins Family Professor of Oncology Research; Professor of Medicine, Cell Biology and Anatomy, Oncology, and Pathology; and Vice Dean for Research at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.
  • Stephen J. Elledge, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Gregor Mendel Professor of Genetics and of Medicine in the Department of Genetics at Harvard Medical School and in the Department of Medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital.
  • Susan Band Horwitz, PhD, Distinguished Professor and Cochair in the Department of Molecular Pharmacology, Distinguished Professor in the Department of Cell Biology, and Rose C. Falkenstein Professor of Cancer Research at Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University.
  • Rudolf Jaenisch, MD, Professor of Biology at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Founding Member of Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research.
  • Figure
    Mark J. Lema, MD, PhD
    Robert Amelio, MSW, MS
    Therese B. Bevers, MD
  • Susan L. Lindquist, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Professor of Biology at MIT, and Member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research.
  • Joan Massagué, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Alfred P. Sloan Chair of the Cancer Biology & Genetics Program at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.
  • Ellen S. Vitetta, PhD, Professor and Director of Cancer Immunology Center and Professor of Biology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.
  • Judith N. Wasserheit, MD, MPH, Director of the HIV Vaccine Trials Network, Professor of Medicine at the University of Washington, and Member of the Program in Infectious Diseases at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

Mark J. Lema, MD, PhD, Chair in the Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine at Roswell Park Cancer Institute, was named President of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. Dr. Lema is active in state legislative and regulatory issues that impact the practice of anesthesiology, and he has helped educate others on the issues of pain management, including end-of-life pain management.

Karen Kelly, MD, was named Deputy Director of the University of Kansas Cancer Center, in addition to Professor and Frank B. Tyler Chair in Cancer Research. Dr. Kelly, who has focused on the prevention, screening, early detection, and treatment of lung cancer throughout her career, plans to develop a comprehensive lung cancer program at the Cancer Center, as well as a wide-ranging cancer clinical and research program overall. She also hopes to expand patient involvement in clinical trials.

Robert Amelio, MSW, MS, was appointed Vice President for Diversity at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. He will work closely with the leadership and Dana-Farber's Diversity Council to lead and support the efforts focused on racial, ethnic, socioeconomic, and other forms of diversity.

Therese B. Bevers, MD, Associate Professor in the Department of Clinical Cancer Prevention and Medical Director of the Cancer Prevention Center at the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, received the Julie and Ben Rogers Award for Excellence in prevention. The award, which includes a certificate of merit and $10,000, rotates annually among the areas of patient care, research, education, prevention, and administration to recognize employees who consistently demonstrate excellence in their work and dedication to M. D. Anderson's mission to eliminate cancer.

The award was established by Regina Rogers in 1987 in honor of her parents, Julie and Ben Rogers, active supporters of M. D. Anderson, and in appreciation of the care her brother and mother received there. Dr. Bevers has led the Cancer Prevention Center since its origin in 1996, and she served as M. D. Anderson's principal investigator for the nationwide Study of Tamoxifen and Raloxifene or STAR trial.

Lynn Matrisian, PhD, Professor and Chair of Cancer Biology at Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, was awarded the Metastasis Research Society's Paget-Ewing Award. Dr. Matrisian is the eighth recipient of this award and the first woman to be honored. The award, named after Sir Stephen Paget and James Ewing, MD, pioneers in metastasis research, is the highest honor bestowed by the Society, honoring scientific excellence and contributions to the understanding and control of cancer metastasis.

Lynn Matrisian, PhD
Monica Morrow, MD
Figure. David
Figure. David:
M. Loesch, MD

Monica Morrow, MD, Chairman of the Surgical Oncology Department at Fox Chase Cancer Center, received the Alumni Achievement Award from the Jefferson Medical College Alumni Association. The award was established in 1964 to honor graduates who brought honor and prestige to the school through their careers.

David M. Loesch, MD, an oncologist at Central Indiana Cancer Centers and a member of the US Oncology Network, received the Indiana Breast Cancer Alliance Medical Researcher “Excellence” Award for 2006. The Award recognizes significant contributions in the areas of breast cancer research and clinical practice. Dr. Loesch is also primary investigator and Scientific Director of the Indiana Cancer Research Foundation. He was acknowledged for his extensive work in the development of new drugs for the treatment of breast cancer and for writing research protocols to be used by oncologists for the testing of breast cancer drugs.

Japanese Cancer Association Mauvernay Award


The Debiopharm Group, a biopharmaceutical development company, announced the recipients of the 2006 JCA-Mauvernay Award: Masanori Hatakeyama, MD, PhD, Professor in the Division of Molecular Oncology at the Institute for Genetic Medicine at Hokkaido University, who focused on the role of Helicobacter pylori CagA in gastric carcinogenesis; and Johji Inazawa, MD, PhD, Professor in the Department of Molecular Cytogenetics at the Medical Research Institute of Tokyo Medical and Dental University, who focused on exploring cancer-associated genes with a molecular cytogenetic approach and on the development of innovative molecular cytogenetic techniques to identify amplified genes in tumor samples.

The Award, organized by the Japanese Cancer Association and Debiopharm, was designed to recognize innovative fundamental and clinical oncology research and to encourage Japanese scientists to make their work available outside Japan.

Shown in the photo are Drs. Inazawa (left) and Hatakeyama (right), with presenter Rolland-Yves Mauvernay, PhD, President and CEO of Debiopharm, at the General Assembly of the 65th Annual Conference of the Japanese Cancer Association.

© 2006 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.
Home  Clinical Resource Center
Current Issue       Search OT
Archives Get OT Enews
Blogs Email us!