Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Editorial Board

Editor in Chief

David Westfall Bates, MD, MSc


Chief Innovation Officer

Senior Vice President

Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Chief, Division of General Internal Medicine

Brigham and Women's Hospital

Medical Director of Clinical and Quality Analysis

Partners HealthCare

Boston, MA

Associate Editors

Sarah P. Slight, PhD, MPharm, PGDip, M.R.Pharm.S, M.P.S.I., FHEA, FFCI
Reader/Associate Professor in Pharmacy
School of Pharmacy
The Faculty of Medical Sciences
Newcastle University
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK


Kevin T. Kavanagh, MD, MS, FACS

Board Chairman

Health Watch USA

Somerset, KY


J. Michael Henderson, MD, ChB, FRCSEd, FACS

Chief Medical Officer

University of Mississippi Medical Center

Jackson, MS



Editorial Board

James P. Bagian, MD, PE

Director of the Center for Healthcare

Engineering & Patient Safety

Professor, University of Michigan

Medical School and College of Engineering


Jann Balmer, RN, PhD

Director, Continuing Medical Education

University of Virginia


Pascale Carayon, PhD

Professor of Industrial Engineering

Director of the Center for Quality and Productivity Improvement

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Madison, WI


David Classen, MS, MD

Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Utah

CMIO, Pascal Metrics


Michael R. Cohen, RPh, MS, ScD

President, Institute for Safe Medication Practices

Huntingdon Valley, PA



Frank Federico, RPh

Executive Director, Strategic Partners

Institute for Healthcare Improvement

Cambridge, MA


Mary E. Foley, MS, RN, PhD

Director, Center for Nursing Research and Innovation

University of California San Francisco School of Nursing

San Francisco, CA


John Gosbee, MD, MS

VA National Center for Patient Safety

Ann Arbor, MI


John Hickner, MD, MSc


Cleveland, OH


Jeanne M. Huddleston, MD, MS,FACP, FHM

Associate Professor of Medicine

Co-Director, Health Care Systems Engineering

Mayo Clinic


David Hunt, MD, FACS

Medical Officer, Office of Provider

Adoption and Support Office of the Secretary

Office of the National Coordinator

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Washington, DC

Edward Kelley, PhD

Head, Strategic Programmes and Coordinator

WHO Patient Safety

Geneva, Switzerland


Carol Keohane, BSN, RN

Academic Medical Center/Patient Safety Organization


Boston, MA



Henri R. Manasse, Jr, PhD, ScD

Former EVP, CEO

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists

Bethesda, MD


Greg Meyer, MD, MSc

Chief Clinical Officer and Executive VP for Population Health

Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health System

Lebanon, NH



Julianne Morath, RN, MSN

Chief Quality & Patient Safety Officer

Vanderbilt University Medical Center



Christina Olsen

Patient Champion

New Zealand



Peter Pronovost, MD, PhD, FCCM

Chief Clinical Transformation and Quality Officer, University Hospitals, 
Professor, Case Western Reserve University, School of Medicine, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, and Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
Cleveland, Ohio​


Pablo Pulido, MD, MSc, DMSc (hon), FACP, FACC

Former Minister of Health, Venezuela

President, the Panamerican Federation of Associations of Medical Schools


Brian Robson, MD

Executive Clinical Director

Health Improvement Scotland

Glasgow, Scotland



Sanjay Saint, MD, MPH

Research Scientist, Ann Arbor VA Medical Center

Professor, Department of Medicine

University of Michigan Medical School

Ann Arbor, MI


Arjun Srinivasan, MD

Associate Director for Healthcare

Associated Infection Prevention

Programs, Division of Healthcare

Quality Promotion

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


J. Bryan Sexton, MA, PhD

Associate Professor

Director of Patient Safety Research & Training

Duke University Health System


Kaveh G. Shojania, MD

Clinical Epidemiology Program

The Ottawa Hospital - Civic Campus

Ottawa, Canada



David Shulkin, MD

Chief Medical Officer

Temple University Hospital

Philadelphia, PA


C.B. "Sully" Sullenberger, III

Founder, Safety Reliability Methods

CBS Safety Correspondent

Member, Global Patient Safety Forum


Eric J. Thomas, MD, MPH

Professor of Medicine

University of Texas - Houston Medical School

Houston, TX


Richard D. Urman, MD, MBA, CPE

Associate Professor of Anesthesia

Harvard Medical School

Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine

Brigham and Women's Hospital

Boston, MA


Charles Vincent, PhD

Smith and Nephew Foundation

Professor of Clinical Safety Research

Imperial College London

London, England


Josie R. Williams, MD, MMM

Assistant Professor of Internal and Family Medicine

A&M System Health Science Center

College Station, TX