Editorial Board : Journal of Addiction Medicine

Journal Logo

Editorial Board

​​​​​​​​​​Click here for information about each board membe​r's areas of expertise


David A. Fiellin, MD, FASAM
Yale University School of Medicine​


Kelly E. Dunn, PhD, MBA
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Ismene Petrakis, MD
Yale University School of Medicine

Frank Vocci, PhD
Friends Research 

Acting Co-Editors 

Benjamin H. Han, MD, MPH
University of California, San Diego

Marcela Smid MD MA MS
University of Utah

Statistical Editors

Debbie M. Cheng, ScD
Boston University School of Public Health 

Sara Lodi, PhD

Boston University School of Public Health

Charles Maynard, PhD
University of Washington

Antover Tuliao, PhD
Texas Tech University​

Managing Editor 

Michael Arends, BS
The Scripps Research Institue 

Digital Media Editor 

Shawn McNeil, MD, FAPA
LSU Health Sciences Center 

Editorial Fellows

Alexa A. Anderson (Lopez), PhD
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Chung Jung Mun ("Moon"), PhD
Arizona State University

Orrin D. Ware PhD, MPH, MSW
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Social Work​

Editorial Board
Robert M. Anthenelli, MD
VA San Diego Healthcare System 
University of California, San Deigo, Health System

Gary Aston-Jones, PhD
Rutgers University and Rutgers Behavioral and Health Sciences

Yatan Pal Singh Balhara, MD, DNB (Psychiatry), MNAMS,MSc
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India

Robert L. Balster, PhD
Virginia Commonwealth University

Kathleen T. Brady, MD, PhD
Medical University Of South Carolina

Karen L. Cropsey, PsyD
University of Alabama at Birmingham 

James L. Ferguson, DO, DFASAM
Recovery Management Solutions​

Michael Fingerhood MD, FACP, FASAM, AAHIVS
Johns Hopkins University 

Catherine Friedman, MD
Brown University 

John A. Fromson, MD
Harvard Medical School

Marc Galanter, MD, MPH, DFASAM
New York University

Marc N. Gourevitch, MD, MPH, DFASAM
New York University School of Medicine

Nady El Guebaly, MD, DPsych, DFASAM
University of Calgary

Kyle Kampman, MD, DFASAM
University of Pennsylvania

Jag Khalsa, PhD
National Institute on Drug Abuse

Barbara J. Mason, PhD
The Scripps Research Institute

Founding Editors and First Edition
George Koob, PhD
Shannon C. Miller, MD, DFASAM, DFAPA  
Martha Wunsch, MD, DFASAM, FAAP 
Inaugural Edition: April 2007​
​Jane C. Maxwell, PhD
University of Texas Austin

Mark Potenza, MD, PhD
Yale University

Gary M. Reisfield, M.D.
University of Florida College of Medicine

Perry F. Renshaw, MD, PhD
University of Utah

Richard K. Ries, MD, DFASAM
University of Washington

David E. Smith, MD, DFASAM
University of California at San Francisco

Eric Strain, MD
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Nassima Ait-Daoud Tiouririne, MD
University of Virginia

Michael F. Weaver, MD, DFASAM
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Joseph Westermeyer, MD, PhD, DFASAM
Minneapolis VAMC

George E. Woody, MD, DFASAM
University of Pennsylvania

Li-Tzy Wu, ScD, RN, MA
School of Medicine, Duke University Medical Center

Nickolas D. Zaller, PhD
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

In Memoriam:
Richard Saitz, MD, MPH, DFASAM, FACP (1963 - 2022) 
Gary D. Helmbrecht, MD  (1957-2011)