Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Institutional members access full text with Ovid®

The Developmental Levels in Achieving Magnet® Designation, Part 1

Wolf, Gail PhD, RN; Finlayson, Susan DNP, RN; Hayden, Margaret MSN, RN; Hoolahan, Susan MSN, RN; Mazzoccoli, Andrea PhD, RN

JONA: The Journal of Nursing Administration: March 2014 - Volume 44 - Issue 3 - p 136–141
doi: 10.1097/NNA.0000000000000041

Magnet® designation has been shown to be a cost-effective strategy resulting in improved patient, staff, and organizational outcomes. Achieving this designation requires an organization to successfully progress through developmental levels on their journey to excellence. Part 1 of this article describes a 4-level developmental model that is applied to each of the Magnet components. Part 2 will discuss a 5-step developmental process and leadership strategies for developing a unit or department through the various levels.

Author Affiliations: Professor and Former Chair of the Commission on Magnet (Dr Wolf), University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Senior Vice President of Operations (Dr Finlayson), Mercy Medical Center, Baltimore, Maryland; Director of Professional Practice (Ms Hayden) and Vice President Patient Care (Ms Hoolahan), UPMC Passavant Hospital, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Chief Nursing Officer (Dr Mazzoccoli), Bon Secours Health System, Baltimore, Maryland.

The authors declare no conflicts of interest.

Correspondence: Dr Wolf, University of Pittsburgh, 4500 Victoria St, Pittsburgh, PA 15213 (

© 2014 Wolters Kluwer Health | Lippincott Williams & Wilkins