Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

July 2016 People & Events

Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine: July 2016 - Volume 58 - Issue 7 - p 744
doi: 10.1097/JOM.0000000000000811
Back to Top | Article Outline


Department Editor:Marianne Dreger.

July 2016 JOEM People & Events

Robert R. Orford, MD, FACOEM, has been elected President of the Airlines Medical Directors Association (AMDA). Dr Orford took office at the AMDA's annual meeting in April 2016 in Atlantic City. His term is for 1 year (2016–2017).



Dr Orford is a past President of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (2008-2009). He is currently a Consultant in the Division of Preventive, Occupational, and Aerospace Medicine and an Assistant Professor at the Mayo Clinic of Medicine in Scottsdale, Ariz., and an Associate Professor at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Dr Orford received his MD, CM from McGill University, Montreal, Canada, his MS from the University of Minnesota, and his MPH from the University of Washington. He is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine, and by the American Board of Preventive Medicine in aerospace medicine and in general preventive medicine and public health.

Dr Orford joined ACOEM in 1986 and was elevated to fellowship in 1992. He is a Past President of two of ACOEM's component societies – the North Central OEMA (1995) and the Western OEMA (2005).

At the Annual Membership Meeting of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) held April 10, 2016, during the College's Centennial American Occupational Health Conference in Chicago, the following ACOEM members were elevated to fellowship:

L. Kristian Arnold, MD, MPH, FACOEM

James D. Ausfahl, MD, FACOEM

Ebi R. Awosika, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Verne L. Backus, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Anthony C. Biascan, MD, FACOEM

Patricia Blackwell, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Melissa Anne Broadman, DO, MPH, FACOEM

Belisario R. Cabanilla, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Christine M. Cisneros, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Jeffrey E. Coe, MD, PhD, FACOEM

Craig W. Curtis, MD, FACOEM

David L. DeRegis, MD, FACOEM

Jennifer L. Eaton, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Robert J. Fitzpatrick, DO, MPH, FACOEM

Terence R. Fogwill, MD, FACOEM

Dale G. Garrett, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Trevor A. Gillmore, MD, MA, FACOEM

Jasminka Goldoni Laestadius, MD, PhD, FACOEM

Rebecca Guest, MD, MPH, FACOEM

William H. Heckman, MD, MPH, FACOEM

David L. Hinkamp, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Todd A. Jacobson, MD, FACOEM

Ashwin M. Kansagra, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Francine S. Katz, DO, MPH, FACOEM

Ellen R. Kessler, MD, MPH, FACOEM

David P. King, MD, FACOEM

Luke E. Mease, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Donald S. Mehr, MD, FACOEM

Raul A. Mirza, DO, MPH, FACOEM

Amir Mohammad, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Jesse H. Monestersky, DO, MPH, FACOEM

Sudhir K. Nayer, MD, FACOEM

Adebisi I. Obafemi, MD, MS, FACOEM

Heather M. O’Hara, MD, MSPH, FACOEM

Samuel Peik, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Nancy V. Rodway, MD, MPH, FACOEM

David R. Roomes, MD, FACOEM

William N. Rom, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Kenneth D. Rosenman, MD, FACOEM

Carine J. Sakr, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Warren B. Sayre, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Akbar Sharip, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Michael P. Shusko, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Dana Sparhawk, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Michael K. Sracic, MD, MS, FACOEM

Kia Lynn Swan-Moore, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Michelle Townsend-Bruce, MD, MSPH, FACOEM

Susan B. Upham, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Norbert L. Wagner, MD, PhD, FACOEM

Amir H. Wolfe, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Jean Q. Xiao, MD, MSc, FACOEM

E ric M. Wood, MD, MPH, FACOEM

Andrew C. Yorgason, DO, MPH, FACOEM

Edward G. Zurad, MD, FACOEM

Fellow, the highest class of membership within the College, distinguishes and recognizes members for their training, accomplishments, and experience in occupational medicine at the national, component, and local levels, as well as for their academic and scientific contributions.

This status allows a member the opportunity to serve at the highest levels and is a qualification for leadership positions such as council chairs and officers and members of the Board.

The Central States Occupational and Environmental Medical Association (CSOEMA), an ACOEM component society, recently elected new officers. On April 1, John D. Kuhnlein, DO, took office as CSOEMA President. Other officers installed for 1-year terms were President-elect Ted Niemiec, MD; Vice President Greg P. Couser, MD; and Secretary-Treasurer Mark Taylor, MD. Robin L. Sassman, MD continues to serve as Immediate Past President.

The Northwest Association of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (NAOEM) will hold its 2016 Annual Meeting on Sept 9 to 10 at the Cedarbrook Lodge, SeaTac, Wash. Session topics include Scientific Basis for Making Fitness for Duty Determinations; Non-opioid Pharmacologic Approaches for the Injured Worker; Update and Review of Common Occupational Skin Diseases; Climate Change and Infectious Diseases – The New Abnormal; Sleep Science: Better Sleep for You and Your Patients; Occupational Reproductive and Developmental Hazards; Red Flags in Low Back Pain, among others.

The NAOEM 60th Anniversary Dinner and Annual Meeting will be held on Friday, September 9. Additional conference details and on-line registration are available at:, or email

The Western Occupational and Environmental Medical Association (WOEMA) will hold its annual Western Occupational Health Conference on Sept 15 to 17, at the Red Rock Casino Resort and Spa, in Las Vegas, NV. Topics will address how to manage spine injuries; medical treatment of the injured worker; ergonomics and human factors; toxicology, opioids and chronic pain in the workplace; communicable diseases. Additional conference details and on-line registration are available at:; or e-mail:

Copyright © 2016 by the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine