Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

People and Events

Dreger, Marianne

Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine: June 2008 - Volume 50 - Issue 6 - p 725-726
doi: 10.1097/JOM.0b013e31817e34a7
People and Events

Department Editor

Anthony D. Burton, MD, MPH, FACOEM, was installed as Director on the ACOEM Board of Directors during AOHC 2008 in New York City, to fulfill the remaining year of the term of William B. Patterson, MD, MPH, FACOEM, who passed away earlier this year.



Dr Burton is Plant Medical Director for General Motors in Ypsilanti, Mich. He received his medical degree from the University of Michigan Medical School and his MPH from the University of Michigan School of Public Health in Ann Arbor. He is certified in occupational medicine by the American Board of Preventive Medicine. Dr Burton is Cochair of the ACOEM Council on Education, and is the Immediate Past President of the Michigan Occupational and Environmental Medical Association, an ACOEM component society.

Dr Patterson died on March 31, 2008, at the age of 59. At the time of his death, in addition to his membership on the ACOEM Board of Directors, he was Chair of the Committee on Ethical Practice in OEM, and Assistant Vice President at Concentra Health Services, responsible for clinical operations in New England and New York. He also held teaching appointments at both Boston University and Harvard University.

Effective January 1, 2008, the following members of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) were certified in occupational medicine by the American Board of Preventive Medicine (ABPM): Lisa N. Anderson, MD; Ebi R. Awosika, MD; Clay M. Baldwin, DO; Konstantin V. Berestnev, MD; Adonis E. Bernardo, MD; Robert J. Burke, MD; Gary Caplan, MD; Sanders K. Chai, MD; Ryo Choi, MD; Samer R. Choksi, MD; Amanpreet S. Dhillon, MD; Melinda M. Dy, DO; Paul J. Eby, MD; Emily L. Engelland, MD; Amy Espy-Smith, MD; Caroline Feist, MD; Gregory D. Gutke, MD; Mark Hammett, MD; Matthew B. Hartz, MD; William C. Hewitson, MD; Chalonda K. Hill, MD; Jonathan Holder, DO; Karen L. Huyck, MD; Shahzad Jahromi, MD; Phil Jiricko, MHA, MD; John R. Johnson, MD; Elizabeth Kaiser, MD; Luci M. Kovacevic, MD; Pamela L. Krahl, MD; Terry L. Lakin, DO; Kenneth M. Lankin, MD; Stephen L. Long, MD; Fred Marks, MD; Sue E. Mollner, MD; Robert F. Reed, MD; James P. Rosbolt, DO; Rashad M. Saeed, DO; John P. Seymour, MD; Joseph R. Smith, MD; Scott J. Spillmann, MD; Ryung Suh, MD; Rosemary M. Szollas, MD; Zilue Tang, MD; Ramon J. Terrazas, MD; Josef G. Thundiyil, MD; Lawrence S. Tolson, MD; Ira B. Weisberg, MD; Gerald I. West, Jr., MD; and Stephen E. Williamson, MD.

Certified in aerospace medicine by ABPM were Jon M. Casbon, MD; Charles D. Clinton, MD; Richard L. Mooney, MD; Allan E. Ward, MD; Thomas A. Webster, MD; and Rawson L. Wood, MD.

Certified in public health and general preventive medicine was Lawrence W. Steinkraus, MD.

Certified in undersea and hyperbaric medicine were Illy Dominitz, MD, and Kevin K. Florek, DO.

ABPM offers certification examinations in aerospace medicine, occupational medicine, and public health and general preventive medicine and the subspecialties of medical toxicology and undersea and hyperbaric medicine. The 2008 examinations will be offered using computer-based testing from September 29 to October 10. The registration deadline is September 15, 2008. For more information, contact ABPM at 111 West Jackson, Ste 1110, Chicago, IL 60604; telephone: 312/939-2276; e-mail:; Web site:

A Joint Symposium of the Carolinas Occupational and Environmental Medicine Association (COEMA) and the Virginia College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (VCOEM), two of ACOEM’s component societies, will be held August 15–16 at the Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club in Durham, NC. An evening welcome reception will be held on August 14. For more information about this event, contact Vicki Smith, COEMA Executive Secretary, at 888/235-3320; e-mail:; or contact Brian Caveney, MD, at

The Central States Occupational Medical Association (CSOMA), an ACOEM component society, has announced the election of its new officers and directors. Elected to a one-year term (2008–2009) were President, Stephen F. Wintermeyer, MD, FACOEM; President-Elect, Brian C. Svazas, MD, FACOEM; Vice President, Michael G. Parker, DO, FACOEM; and Secretary-Treasurer, Mary Jo Capodice, DO, FACOEM.

Elected to a three-year term on the CSOMA Board of Governors were: Daniel Samo, MD, FACOEM; Janet Streepey, MD; Robin Epp, MD; Janet Elliott, MD; and Jaspal Arora, MD. Elected to fulfill one-year terms were Barbara Gibson, MD, and Daniel Janiga, MD, FACOEM.

CSOMA will hold its Annual Fall Seminar, September 19–20, 2008, at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown Hotel, Indianapolis, Ind. For more information, contact Marlyce Nutt, CSOMA Executive Director, 6 Phillippi Creek, Elgin, IL 60120; telephone: 630/497-0286; fax: 630/497-0364; e-mail:; or visit the CSOMA Web site at

The Tri-State Occupational Medical Association (TSOMA), an ACOEM component society, will hold its annual conference on Saturday, September 27. Topics will include medical clearance for respirator usage, fitness for duty evaluations, neuropsych evaluations, integrating wellness into occupational medicine practices, and the Family Medical Leave Act. This activity will be held at the Ohio State Medical Association Headquarters in Columbus, Ohio. Contact Ed McVay at for additional information about the meeting and lodging.

Preceding the TSOMA conference, ACOEM will offer its Medical Review Officer (MRO) Advanced Course on September 26. This one-day course is designed for experienced MROs. Faculty will review significant 2008 changes to DOT specimen validity testing requirements and the latest state drug testing laws. Participants will master nonfederal drug testing, e.g., on-site point-of-collection testing and drugs beyond the SAMHSA-five panel. Practical aspects of building an MRO practice including liability and pricing will be discussed, and a tutorial will be presented instructing MROs how to review hair testing and oral fluid “alternative specimen” results.

For more information or to register for the MRO course, contact ACOEM at 847/818-1800, or visit the ACOEM Web site at ACOEM designates this educational activity for a maximum of 7.5 AMA PRA category 1 credit(s). This activity satisfies 7.5 ABPM MOC credits.



Copyright © 2008 by the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine