JBJS Open Access

Journal Logo

​​​​​​​JBJS Open Access Awards

JBJS Open Access (JBJS OA) and The Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery (JBJS) are pleased to announce two annual awards in the amount of $500 USD each. One award will be for the best JBJS Open Access scientific article, and the other will be for the best JBJS Open Access AOA Critical Issues in Education article published each calendar year.

Additionally, beginning in 2022, all award winners will receive the JBJS Learning package (a $299 USD value), which includes one-year of access to JBJS Clinical Classroom, JBJS' online learning platform designed specifically for orthopaedic surgeons, as well as a yearlong subscription to all six of JBJS' journals.


JBJS Open Access would like to thank Dr. Shep Hurwitz for his generous sponsorship of the Open Access awards.

​How to Enter

Corresponding authors will be asked during the submission process whether they wish their article to be considered for the award.

Articles must be submitted via the JBJS OA Editorial Manager submission site and adhere to the requirements outlined in the Instructions for Authors.

What Makes a Good Open Access Article?

Key criteria for a high-quality JBJS OA article include, but are not limited to:

  • Broad interest across the spectrum of bone and joint surgery
  • Rigorous methodology, a strong message, and useful illustrations
  • The potential to change practice and/or improve orthopaedic education
  • Findings of international relevance

Questions regarding the contest and submission process can be sent to [email protected].

Winner Selection

Winning authors will be notified by March each following year. Their achievement will be recognized online as well as featured in our OrthoBuzz blog.

JBJS Open Access 2022 Award Winners

JBJS Open Access Editor's Choice Scientific Article Award:

Ståle Ørstavik Clementsen, Rune Bruhn Jakobsen, Ola-Lars Hammer, and Per-Henrik Randsborg for their work on “The Effect of Ulnar Styloid Fractures on Patient-Reported Outcomes After Surgically Treated Distal Radial Fractures" (July-September 2022; 7 (3): e22.00021).


JBJS Open Access Editor's Choice AOA Critical Issues in Education Award:

Harsh Wadhwa, Noelle L Van Rysselberghe, Sean T Campbell, and Julius A Bishop for their work on “Musculoskeletal Educational Resources for the Aspiring Orthopaedic Surgeon" (January-March 2022; 7 (1): e21.00113).


JBJS Open Access 2021 Award Winners

JBJS Open Access Editor's Choice Scientific Article Award:

Joseph X. Robin, MD, Sudarsan Murali, MBA, Kyle D. Paul, BS, Alexander M. Kofskey, BS, Anthony L. Wilson, MS, Adam M. Almaguer, MD, Bradley W. Wills, MD, Gerald McGwin, PhD, Amit M. Momaya, MD, Eugene W. Brabston, MD, and Brent A. Ponce, MD for their work on "Disparities Among Industry's Highly Compensated Orthopaedic Surgeons" (2021 Dec 8;6[4]:e21.00015).


JBJS Open Access 
Editor's Choice AOA Critical Issues in Education Award:

Adam Watson, MBBS, BMedSci, MSurgicalEd, FRACS, Timothy Leroux, MD, MEd, FRCS(C), Darrell Ogilvie-Harris, MD, MSc, FRCS(C), Markku Nousiainen, MD, MSc, FRCS(C), FAOA, Peter C. Ferguson, MD, MSc, FRCS(C), FAOA, Lucas Murnahan, MD, MEd, FRCS(C), and Tim Dwyer, MBBS, FRACS, FRCS(C) for their work on "Entrustable Professional Activities in Orthopaedics" (2021 Apr 9;6[2]:e20.00010).