Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Institutional members access full text with Ovid®

Dynamics of Acutely Irradiated Skin Epidermal Epithelium in Swine: Modeling Studies

Smirnova, Olga A.*; Hu, Shaowen; Cucinotta, Francis A.‡§

doi: 10.1097/HP.0000000000000058

A mathematical model, which describes the dynamics of acutely irradiated skin epidermal epithelium in swine, is developed. This model embodies the key mechanisms of regulation of skin epidermal epithelium and the principal stages of development of its cells (basal, prickle, and corneal). The model is implemented as a system of nonlinear ordinary differential equations, whose variables and parameters have clear biological meaning. The modeling results for the dose- and time-dependent changes in basal and prickle cell populations are in a good agreement with relevant experimental data. The correlation between the experimental data on the dynamics of moist reaction in acutely irradiated swine skin epidermal epithelium and the corresponding modeling results on the dynamics of corneal cells is revealed. Proceeding from this, the threshold level of corneal cells, which indicates the appearance of the moist reaction, is found. All this bears witness to the validity of employment of the developed model, after appropriate identification, in the investigation and prediction of radiation effects on skin epidermal epithelium in humans.

*Federal State Unitary Enterprise Research and Technical Center of Radiation—Chemical Safety and Hygiene, 40 Shchukinskaya st., Moscow, 123182, Russian Federation; †Universities Space Research Association, Division of Space Life Sciences, Houston, TX 77058; ‡NASA, Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center, 2101 NASA Parkway, Houston, TX 77058; §University of Nevada Las Vegas, Las Vegas NV 89154.

The authors declare no conflicts of interest.

For correspondence contact: Francis A. Cucinotta, University of Nevada Las Vegas, Department of Health PHysics and Diagnostic Sciences, Las Vegas, NV 89154 USA or email at

(Manuscript accepted 21 October 2013)

© 2014 by the Health Physics Society