Share this article on:

2008 Pitkin Award and 2008 Kaminetzky Prize Paper

doi: 10.1097/AOG.0b013e3181a3e197

*Dr. Spong, Associate Editor of Obstetrics & Gynecology, was not a member of the Committee that selected the prize papers.

The Editors of Obstetrics & Gynecology are pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 Pitkin Award and the 2008 Kaminetzky Prize Paper.

The Roy M. Pitkin Award was established in 1998 to honor departments of obstetrics and gynecology that promote and demonstrate excellence in research. The award consists of a $5,000 unrestricted grant presented to each department whose faculty, fellows, or residents have published one of the most outstanding articles in Obstetrics & Gynecology during the previous year. We recognize both the authors and the departments for the quality of the research and publication of the results. The editors selected the finalists in this year’s competition from all articles published in 2008. This is a difficult task and one we take very seriously. A panel of former Editorial Board members then reviewed and ranked the articles based on scientific merit, importance to the specialty, study design, methodology, presentation of results, soundness of conclusions, and writing style. This year we have chosen four winners, and they are:

  • Sawaya GF, Chirenje MZ, Magure MT, Tuveson JL, Ma Y, Shiboski SC, Da Costa MM, Palefsky JM, Moscicki A-B, Mutasa RM, Chipato T, Smith-McCune KK. Effect of diaphragm and lubricant gel provision on human papillomavirus infection among women provided with condoms: a randomized controlled trial. Obstet Gynecol 2008;112:990–7. From the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences, University of California, San Francisco (Linda C. Giudice, MD, PhD, MSc, Chair).
  • Longinotti MK, Jacobson GF, Hung Y-Y, Learman LA. Probability of hysterectomy after endometrial ablation. Obstet Gynecol 2008;112:1214–20. From the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Kaiser Permanente San Francisco (Steven Masters, MD, Chair).
  • Lyell DJ, Pullen KM, Mannan J, Chitkara U, Druzin ML, Caughey AB, El-Sayed YY. Maintenance nifedipine tocolysis compared with placebo: a randomized controlled trial. Obstet Gynecol 2008;112:1221–6. From the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Stanford University (Jonathan S. Berek, MD, MMS, Chair).
  • Toso L, Cameroni I, Roberson R, Abebe D, Bissell S, Spong CY.* Prevention of developmental delays in a Down syndrome mouse model. Obstet Gynecol 2008;112:1242–51. From the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, The George Washington University (John W. Larsen, MD, Chair).

The Harold A. Kaminetzky Prize Paper was established in 2008 to recognize the best article from a non-U.S. researcher each year. Dr. Harold A. Kaminetzky, former ACOG President, has had a long career as editor of major medical journals. His last editorship was as Editor of the International Journal of Gynecology and Obstetrics. Dr. Kaminetzky also has had a long interest in international activities. Finalists from articles published in 2008 were selected by the editors, and a panel of former Editorial Board members chose the winner. The recipient of the award will receive $2,000. This year’s winner is:

  • Siebers AG, Klinkhamer PJJM, Arbyn M, Raifu AO, Massuger LFAG, Bulten J. Cytologic detection of cervical abnormalities using liquid-based compared with conventional cytology: a randomized controlled trial. Obstet Gynecol 2008;112:1327–34. From the Radboud University Nijmegen Medical Centre, The Netherlands.

On behalf of the selection committee, the Editors, and the Editorial Board, we congratulate each recipient of the 2008 Roy M. Pitkin Award and the authors of the 2008 Kaminetzky Prize Paper. We are proud to play a role in encouraging quality research and scientific writing that will ultimately improve the health care of women. We are also grateful to the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, who generously funded these grants.

Back to Top | Article Outline

Roy M. Pitkin Award/Kaminetzky Prize Paper Panel, 2008

Patrick Duff, MD, Chair

Dwight P. Cruikshank, MD

William C. Dodson, MD

Melissa L. Gilliamand, MD

© 2009 by The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Published by Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.