Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Institutional members access full text with Ovid®

Obstetric Care Consensus No. 2: Levels of Maternal Care

doi: 10.1097/01.AOG.0000460770.99574.9f
Perspectives: Content
Obstetric Care Consensus List of Titles

Abstract: In the 1970s, studies demonstrated that timely access to risk-appropriate neonatal and obstetric care could reduce perinatal mortality. Since the publication of the Toward Improving the Outcome of Pregnancy report, more than three decades ago, the conceptual framework of regionalization of care of the woman and the newborn has been gradually separated with recent focus almost entirely on the newborn. In this current document, maternal care refers to all aspects of antepartum, intrapartum, and postpartum care of the pregnant woman. The proposed classification system for levels of maternal care pertains to birth centers, basic care (level I), specialty care (level II), subspecialty care (level III), and regional perinatal health care centers (level IV). The goal of regionalized maternal care is for pregnant women at high risk to receive care in facilities that are prepared to provide the required level of specialized care, thereby reducing maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States.

This document was developed jointly by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and the Society for Maternal-Fetal Medicine with the assistance of M. Kathryn Menard, MD, MPH; Sarah Kilpatrick, MD, PhD; George Saade, MD; Lisa M. Hollier, MD, MPH; Gerald F. Joseph Jr, MD; Wanda Barfield, MD; William Callaghan, MD; John Jennings, MD; and Jeanne Conry, MD, PhD. The information reflects emerging clinical and scientific advances as of the date issued, is subject to change, and should not be construed as dictating an exclusive course of treatment or procedure. Variations in practice may be warranted based on the needs of the individual patient, resources, and limitations unique to the institution or type of practice.

This document has been endorsed by the following organizations: American Association of Birth Centers American College of Nurse-Midwives Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses Commission for the Accreditation of Birth Centers The American Academy of Pediatrics leadership, the American Society of Anesthesiologists leadership, and the Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology leadership have reviewed the opinion and are supportive of the Levels of Maternal Care.

Also published in the American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Copyright February 2015 by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, SW, PO Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920. All rights reserved.

Levels of maternal care. Obstetric Care Consensus No. 2. American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Obstet Gynecol 2015;125:502–15.

© 2015 by The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Published by Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.