Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Institutional members access full text with Ovid®

Munro Malcolm G. MD; Parker, William H. MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology: October 1993
Unknown Section

The term “laparoscopic hysterectomy” has been applied to a variety of procedures, ranging from lysis of adhesions laparoscopically followed by vaginal hysterectomy, to removal of the entire uterus under endoscopic direction. These procedures vary in a number of ways, including cost, morbidity, operating time, and surgical skill required. To facilitate training, credentialing, and outcome evaluation, we present the following classification system: type I—division of one or both pedicles containing the ovarian arteries, type II—dissection including one or both uterine arteries, type III—type II plus separation of part of at least one cardinal-uterosacral ligament complex, and type IV—type II plus separation of the entire cardinal-uterosacral ligament complex on at least one side. Each of the types may be subclassified according to the degree of dissection of structures located anterior and posterior to the cervix. Supracervical hysterectomy has a separate system of classification. Operations are categorized by management of the ovarian and uterine arteries and subdivided according to treatment of the cervical canal.(Obstet Gynecol 1993;82:624-9)

From the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California.

© 1993 The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists