Michael D. Garber, Winner of the 2022 Rothman Epidemiology Prize : Epidemiology

Secondary Logo

Journal Logo


Michael D. Garber, Winner of the 2022 Rothman Epidemiology Prize

Epidemiology 33(4):p 449, July 2022. | DOI: 10.1097/EDE.0000000000001498
  • Free

The Editors and Editorial Board of Epidemiology are pleased to announce the selection of Michael D. Garber as the winner of this year’s Rothman Epidemiology Prize. This award of $5000 is funded from a private endowment and is given annually for the best article published in the journal in the preceding year. The selection criteria are importance, originality, clarity of thought, and excellence in writing. Dr. Garber’s winning article, titled “At-risk-measure Sampling in Case–Control Studies with Aggregated Data,” appeared in our January 2021 issue. The article describes a method for control sampling of person–distance and person–events summarized over participants by location. It is illustrated with data from a mobile app used to record bicycling trips and has applications to other big data sources of aggregated mobile-sensor data.

Dr. Garber published the work while a doctoral student in the Department of Epidemiology at the Rollins School of Public Health and Laney Graduate School, Emory University.

Congratulations also to runners-up Graham R. Northrup and colleagues for their article titled “Inference of Naturally Acquired Immunity Using a Self-matched Negative-Control Design” (March 2021) and Eli Ben-Michael and colleagues for their article titled “A Trial Emulation Approach for Policy Evaluations with Group-level Longitudinal Data” (July 2021).

Past Winners

1993 Claude Desenclos

1994 Carmen Navarro

1995 Alfredo Nicolosi

1996 Michelle Williams

1997 Sholom Wacholder

1998 Jay Kaufman

1999 Guohua Li

2000 Hélène Carabin

2001 Lynn Moore

2002 Malcolm Maclure

2003 Rosalie Woodruff

2004 Carl Phillips

2005 Miguel Hernán

2006 Jim Koopman

2007 Ana Baylin

2008 Kathryn Glass

2009 Michela Baccini

2010 Lutz Breitling

2011 Marc Lipsitch

2012 Theis Lange

2013 Ai Milojevic

2014 José Zubizarreta

2015 Dmitry Shaposhnikov

2016 John Jackson & Sonja Swanson

2017 Douglas Wiebe

2018 Esra Kurum

2019 Corwin M. Zigler

2020 Young Kyung Do

2021 Issa J. Dahabreh

Copyright © 2022 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.