Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Corwin M. Zigler, Winner of the 2019 Rothman Epidemiology Prize

doi: 10.1097/EDE.0000000000000845

The Editors and Editorial Board of Epidemiology are pleased to announce the selection of Corwin M. Zigler as the winner of this year’s Rothman Epidemiology Prize. This award of $5000 is funded from a private endowment and is given annually for the best paper published in the journal in the preceding year. The selection criteria are importance, originality, clarity of thought, and excellence in writing. Dr. Zigler’s winning paper, titled “Impact of National Ambient Air Quality Standards Nonattainment Designations on Particulate Pollution and Health,” appeared in our March 2018 issue. The paper used causal inference methods and a spatial hierarchical regression model to characterize the extent to which a designation of “nonattainment” with the 1997 National Ambient Air Quality Standard for ambient fine particulate matter in 2005 affected health outcomes among over 10 million Medicare beneficiaries in the Eastern United States in 2009–2012. The targeted principal stratification analysis provided evidence of the effectiveness of local control measures after nonattainment designations, with noteworthy reductions in all-cause mortality, chronic obstructive pulmonary disorder, heart failure, ischemic heart disease, and respiratory tract infections.

Dr. Zigler is an Associate Professor in the Department of Statistics and Data Sciences and in the Department of Women’s Health at Dell Medical School, the University of Texas at Austin. He was appointed in the Department of Biostatistics, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health at the time of the submission.

Congratulations also to runners-up Lara S. Lemon and colleagues for their paper titled “Methadone Versus Buprenorphine for Opioid Use Dependence and Risk of Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome” (March, 2018) and Kaitlyn B. Gam and colleagues for their paper titled “Lung Function in Oil Spill Response Workers 1–3 Years After the Deepwater Horizon Disaster” (May, 2018).

Back to Top | Article Outline

Past Winners

1993 Claude Desenclos

1994 Carmen Navarro

1995 Alfredo Nicolosi

1996 Michelle Williams

1997 Sholom Wacholder

1998 Jay Kaufman

1999 Guohua Li

2000 Hélène Carabin

2001 Lynn Moore

2002 Malcolm Maclure

2003 Rosalie Woodruff

2004 Carl Phillips

2005 Miguel Hernan

2006 Jim Koopman

2007 Ana Baylin

2008 Kathryn Glass

2009 Michela Baccini

2010 Lutz Breitling

2011 Marc Lipsitch

2012 Theis Lange

2013 Ai Milojevic

2014 José Zubizarreta

2015 Dmitry Shaposhnikov

2016 John Jackson & Sonja Swanson

2017 Douglas Wiebe

2018 Esra Kürüm

Copyright © 2019 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.