Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Rothman Prize

Esra Kürüm, Winner of the 2018 Kenneth Rothman Epidemiology Prize

doi: 10.1097/EDE.0000000000000845
  • Free

The Editors and Editorial Board of Epidemiology are pleased to announce the selection of Esra Kürüm as the winner of this year’s Rothman Epidemiology Prize. This award of $5000 is funded from a private endowment and is given annually for the best paper published in the journal in the preceding year. The selection criteria are importance, originality, clarity of thought, and excellence in writing. Dr. Kürüm’s winning paper, titled “Bayesian Model Averaging with Change Points to Assess the Impact of Vaccination and Public Health Interventions,” appeared in our November 2017 issue. The paper combined Bayesian model averaging with change-point models to estimate vaccine-associated changes in hospitalizations related to pneumococcal infection in children. Two years after vaccine introduction, the methods detected reductions in all-cause pneumonia hospitalizations for the youngest children in the United States, Brazil, and Chile, while avoiding biases that frequently affect other approaches to time-trend analyses.

Dr. Kürüm is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Statistics at the University of California, Riverside.

Congratulations also to runners-up Mats Julius Stensrud and colleagues for their paper titled “Exploring Selection Bias by Causal Frailty Models: The Magnitude Matters” (May 2017) and Joshua P. Keller and colleagues for their paper titled “Measurement Error Correction for Predicted Spatiotemporal Air Pollution Exposures” (May 2017).


1993 Claude Desenclos

1994 Carmen Navarro

1995 Alfredo Nicolosi

1996 Michelle Williams

1997 Sholom Wacholder

1998 Jay Kaufman

1999 Guohua Li

2000 Hélène Carabin

2001 Lynn Moore

2002 Malcolm Maclure

2003 Rosalie Woodruff

2004 Carl Phillips

2005 Miguel Hernán

2006 Jim Koopman

2007 Ana Baylin

2008 Kathryn Glass

2009 Michela Baccini

2010 Lutz Breitling

2011 Marc Lipsitch

2012 Theis Lange

2013 Ai Milojevic

2014 José Zubizarreta

2015 Dmitry Shaposhnikov

2016 John Jackson & Sonja Swanson

2017 Douglas Wiebe

Copyright © 2018 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.