Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Rothman Prize

Douglas Wiebe, Winner of the 2017 Kenneth Rothman EPIDEMIOLOGY Prize

doi: 10.1097/EDE.0000000000000683
  • Free

The Editors and Editorial Board of Epidemiology are pleased to announce the selection of Douglas Wiebe as the winner of this year’s Rothman Epidemiology Prize. This award of $5000 is funded from a private endowment and is given annually for the best paper published in the journal in the preceding year. The selection criteria are importance, originality, clarity of thought, and excellence in writing. Dr. Wiebe’s winning paper, titled “Mapping Activity Patterns to Quantify Risk of Violent Assault in Urban Environments,” appeared in our January 2016 issue. The paper used a temporal and spatial scale relevant to the dynamics of violent assault, and showed that gunshot assault risks included being alone, acquiring a gun, and entering areas with more vacancy, violence, and vandalism.

Dr. Wiebe is an Associate Professor of Epidemiology at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine and a Senior Fellow at the Center for Injury Research and Prevention.

Congratulations also to runners-up M. Maria Glymour and colleagues for their paper titled “Does Mother Know Best? Treatment Adherence as a Function of Anticipated Treatment Benefit” (March, 2016) and Takashi Yorifuji et al. for their paper titled “ Fine-particulate Air Pollution from Diesel Emission Control and Mortality Rates in Tokyo: A Quasi-experimental Study” (November, 2016).

Past Winners

1993 Claude Desenclos

1994 Carmen Navarro

1995 Alfredo Nicolosi

1996 Michelle Williams

1997 Sholom Wacholder

1998 Jay Kaufman

1999 Guohua Li

2000 Hélène Carabin

2001 Lynn Moore

2002 Malcolm Maclure

2003 Rosalie Woodruff

2004 Carl Phillips

2005 Miguel Hernán

2006 Jim Koopman

2007 Ana Baylin

2008 Kathryn Glass

2009 Michela Baccini

2010 Lutz Breitling

2011 Marc Lipsitch

2012 Theis Lange

2013 Ai Milojevic

2014 José Zubizarreta

2015 Dmitry Shaposhnikov

2016 John Jackson & Sonja Swanson

Copyright © 2017 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.