Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Rothman Prize

John Jackson and Sonja Swanson, Winners of the 2016 Kenneth Rothman EPIDEMIOLOGY Prize

doi: 10.1097/EDE.0000000000000501
  • Free

The Editors and Editorial Board of EPIDEMIOLOGY are pleased to announce the selection of John Jackson & Sonja Swanson as the winners of this year’s Rothman EPIDEMIOLOGY Prize. This award of $5000 is funded from a private endowment and is given annually for the best paper published in the journal in the preceding year. The selection criteria are importance, originality, clarity of thought, and excellence in writing. Drs. Jackson and Swanson’s winning paper, titled “Toward a Clearer Portrayal of Confounding Bias in Instrumental Variable Applications,” appeared in our July 2015 issue. The paper showed that conventional methods to evaluate the potential for confounding in instrumental variable analyses may be inadequate and they introduced bias plots as an alternative tool.

Dr. Jackson is a Yerby Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the Department of Epidemiology at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Dr. Swanson is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Epidemiology at Erasmus University Medical Center in Rotterdam. Drs. Jackson and Swanson were equal partners in the preparation of the winning manuscript.

Congratulations also to runners-up Eric J. Tchetgen Tchetgen and colleagues for their paper titled “Instrumental Variable Estimation in a Survival Context” (May, 2015) and Kristina W. Whitworth et al. for their paper titled “Anti-Müllerian Hormone and Lifestyle, Reproductive, and Environmental Factors Among Women in Rural South Africa” (May, 2015).

Past Winners

1993 Claude Desenclos

1994 Carmen Navarro

1995 Alfredo Nicolosi

1996 Michelle Williams

1997 Sholom Wacholder

1998 Jay Kaufman

1999 Guohua Li

2000 Hélène Carabin

2001 Lynn Moore

2002 Malcolm Maclure

2003 Rosalie Woodruff

2004 Carl Phillips

2005 Miguel Hernán

2006 Jim Koopman

2007 Ana Baylin

2008 Kathryn Glass

2009 Michela Baccini

2010 Lutz Breitling

2011 Marc Lipsitch

2012 Theis Lange

2013 Ai Milojevic

2014 José Zubizarreta

2015 Dmitry Shaposhnikov

Copyright © 2016 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.