Share this article on:

Kathryn Glass, Winner of the Kenneth Rothman Epidemiology Prize, 2008

doi: 10.1097/01.ede.0000333974.40951.6c

The Editors and Editorial Board of Epidemiology are pleased to announce the selection of Kathryn Glass as the winner of this year's Rothman Epidemiology Prize. This prize of $3000 is awarded annually for the best paper published in the journal. The selection criteria are importance, originality, clarity of thought, and excellence in writing. Dr. Glass' winning paper is titled “How much would closing schools reduce transmission during an influenza pandemic?” coauthored by Belinda Barnes. The prize is funded from an endowment established by Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd. and managed by the American College of Epidemiology. Dr. Glass' paper appeared in our September 2007 issue.



Kathryn Glass is a Fellow at the National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health at the Australian National University. She received a PhD in mathematics from the University of Cambridge. Since then, she has worked in the field of infectious disease epidemiology, using mathematical modeling techniques to analyze data and assess the effect of interventions. She has a continuing interest in optimal vaccination schedules for childhood infectious diseases such as measles and pertussis, and the impact of waning immunity on these schedules. Much of her recent research has been to predict the likely impact of an influenza pandemic, and to assess the benefits of various interventions to contain or slow the spread of the disease. She is also developing new methods for using disease outbreak data to estimate the efficacy of vaccines and antiviral drugs.

Congratulations also to runners-up Kathryn Hutchinson and her colleagues for their paper on “Condom use and its association with bacterial vaginosis and bacterial vaginosis-associated vaginal microflora” and to Tyler VanderWeele and his colleague for their paper on “The identification of synergism in the sufficient-component-cause framework.”

Back to Top | Article Outline

Past Winners

1993 Claude Desenclos

1994 Carmen Navarro

1995 Alfredo Nicolosi

1996 Michelle Williams

1997 Sholom Wacholder

1998 Jay Kaufman

1999 Guohua Li

2000 Hélène Carabin

2001 Lynn Moore

2002 Malcolm Maclure

2003 Rosalie Woodruff

2004 Carl Phillips

2005 Miguel Hernán

2006 Jim Koopman

2007 Ana Baylin

© 2008 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.