Secondary Logo

The Kenneth Rothman Epidemiology Prize

The Editors


The Editors of Epidemiology are pleased to announce that the journal’s annual prize for best paper will be named the Kenneth Rothman Epidemiology Prize, honoring the journal’s founder and first editor. This prize of $3000 is given to the author of the paper selected by the editors and editorial board as outstanding in its originality, importance, clarity of thought, and excellence in writing. The award is made possible by an endowment funded by Hoffman-La Roche Ltd. and managed by the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology (ISPE).

For readers of this journal, the naming of this prize will come as no surprise. However, those who were authors under Ken’s editorship best understand how fitting it is. Ken’s exacting standards of expression and composition were stamped upon every manuscript that passed through the journal’s pages. More than one prize-winner over the years has given credit to their editor for the clarity of their winning papers.

With this issue of the journal, we close the books on 2001. The 773 pages of this volume have carried more than 150 original papers, brief reports, reviews, editorials, commentaries, and letters. We hope that some have left their mark. Perhaps others that you missed on the first time around will prove useful later. If you have a favorite from the past year, now is the time to tell us. We welcome your nominations for the paper that best exemplifies our selection criteria above. Please submit your nominations no later than the end of January 2002. We will, with great pleasure, announce the winner of the first Rothman Epidemiology Prize in next May’s issue. FIGURE



© 2001 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.