Secondary Logo

Share this article on:

TeamHealth Proud to Honor EM Heroes

Massingale, Lynn MD

doi: 10.1097/01.EEM.0000349228.09268.9b

Dr. Massingale is the executive chairman of TeamHealth.

TeamHealth welcomed the opportunity to recognize the 40th anniversary of ACEP, the nation's leading organization representing emergency physicians, by sponsoring the “Heroes of Emergency Medicine” supplement to ACEP News. The piece recognizes physicians who have made significant and meaningful contributions to the specialty over the past 40 years.



TeamHealth played no role in the selection of the heroes; they were all recommended for recognition by their peers and colleagues. Only 8.7 percent of those physicians listed in the piece are affiliated with TeamHealth.

At a time when our specialty faces a number of real threats—declining reimbursement, an inadequate supply of board certified emergency physicians to meet patient needs, and increasing concerns related to access of care, to name a few—I find it ironic that the “Heroes” supplement should garner this much attention.

The physicians featured within the piece represent a wide variety of interests—resident educators, EMS leaders, patient safety advocates, legislative activists, association officers, clinical researchers, and front-line physicians.

TeamHealth proudly honors all of these heroes, those who are affiliated with our organization and those who are not, for their tireless service, unwavering advocacy of quality patient care, and lasting contribution to the specialty of emergency medicine.

© 2009 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.