About SDU, QH of SDU : Emergency and Critical Care Medicine

Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

About SDU, QH of SDU

Shandong University (SDU), under the direct jurisdiction of the Ministry of Education, is a member university of China's Double-First Class initiative and a key comprehensive university with a long history, a variety of disciplines, strong academic strength, and distinctive characteristics, which has great influence both at home and abroad. For more than 100 years, Shandong University has been following the mission of “Nurture talents for the world, and seek prosperity for the nation" and the motto of "Noble in spirit, endless in knowledge." Through the pursuit of truth and innovation, Shandong University is committed to excellence. Up to this day, the University is well-known for its strong liberal arts programs, and its financial mathematics, crystal materials, colloid and surface chemistry, micro-biology, underground engineering, cardiovascular functional recovery, reproductive medicine, and new drug manufacturing have all risen to the first-class level.

Qilu Hospital of Shandong University (QH of SDU) is a directly affiliated hospital of Shandong University, established in 1890 by an American couple (Mr. James Royl Neal and his wife) invited by the Presbyterian Church of North America. For all generations of Qilu Hospital, the spirit of “Providing Relief to All in Need, Seeking Truth from Universal Wisdom" is the common inheritance. At present, the hospital has 68 clinical departments, of which 6 disciplines ranked among the top 10 of the 2019 Specialist Reputation of Chinese Hospital Rankings, including emergency medicine, rehabilitation medicine, gynaecology and obstetrics, neurosurgery, haematology and laboratory medicine. And the department of emergency medicine, led by Prof. Yuguo Chen, has won the 3rd place in Rankings. To enhance international cooperation and influence, Prof. Yuguo Chen and his team also attach importance to collaboration with the world's top research institutions, such as Karolinska Institutet, Harvard University, Thomas Jefferson University, et al.