Editorial introductions : Current Opinion in Rheumatology

Secondary Logo

Journal Logo


Editorial introductions

Editor(s): McCune, W. Joseph; Tedeschi, Sara K.; Fox, David

Current Opinion in Rheumatology 35(3):p v, May 2023. | DOI: 10.1097/BOR.0000000000000936
  • Free

Current Opinion in Rheumatology was launched in 1989. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of Rheumatology is divided into 15 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Journal's Section Editors for this issue.


W. Joseph McCune

W. Joseph McCune

Dr W. Joseph McCune, MD, is Michael and Marcia Klein Professor of Rheumatic Diseases and Director of the Lupus Program at the University of Michigan. Following an Internal Medicine residency at the University of Michigan and a fellowship in Immunology and Rheumatology at Harvard Medical School and the Brigham and Woman's Hospital, Dr McCune has been a member of the faculty at the University of Michigan where he specializes in the epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of lupus and systemic vasculitis.

Sara K. Tedeschi

Sara K. Tedeschi

Dr. Sara K. Tedeschi, MD, MPH, received her medical degree from Vanderbilt University, USA and her MPH degree from the Harvard School of Public Health, USA. She joined the rheumatology faculty at Brigham and Women's Hospital, USA, after completing her internal medicine residency and rheumatology fellowship there. Her clinical research on calcium pyrophosphate crystal deposition disease is supported by the National Institutes of Health.

David Fox

David Fox

Dr. Fox is a graduate of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Harvard Medical School. Following internal medicine residency and rheumatology fellowship at the Brigham and Women's Hospital, he joined the faculty of the University of Michigan School of Medicine in 1985. Dr. Fox is Professor of Internal Medicine and, from 1990 to 2018, was Chief of the Division of Rheumatology. In 2013, Dr. Fox became the Frederick G. L. Huetwell and William D. Robinson, M.D. Professor of Rheumatology. He is currently a Deputy Director of the Immune Tolerance Network.

Dr. Fox's research focuses on defining and characterizing pathways of human T cell activation, determining the role of these pathways in the pathogenesis of autoimmune disease, investigating T cell interactions with synovial fibroblasts, and exploring novel approaches to the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis and scleroderma. He is author of more than 260 scientific papers and book chapters. Dr. Fox is also active in the clinical care of patients with rheumatic diseases and in teaching students and fellows in both clinical and research settings. From 2007–2008, Dr. Fox served as the seventy-first President of the American College of Rheumatology and the sixth ACR President from the University of Michigan

Copyright © 2023 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.