Editorial introduction : Current Opinion in Rheumatology

Secondary Logo

Journal Logo


Editorial introduction

Editor(s): Tsokos, George C.

Current Opinion in Rheumatology 35(2):p v, March 2023. | DOI: 10.1097/BOR.0000000000000927
  • Free

Current Opinion in Rheumatology was launched in 1989. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of Rheumatology is divided into 15 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Journal's Section Editor for this issue.


George C. Tsokos

George C. Tsokos

George C. Tsokos is a Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and chief of the Division of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, MA, USA. His laboratory has led the field of molecular abnormalities on immune cells in patients with systemic lupus erythematosus and has identified previously unknown pathways that have served as the basis for novel treatments currently in various phases of development. More recently, he has launched studies to decipher the interaction between immune and kidney resident cells and to identify local processes that enable renal injury.

Dr Tsokos has served in various leadership positions, including president of the Clinical Immunology Society, the member of the boards of directors for the American College of Rheumatology and the Lupus Foundation of America, member or chair of multiple federal study sections, and editor or member of the editorial boards for top scientific journals. He holds a MERIT Award from the National Institutes of Health and has received several prestigious awards, including the Kirkland, Lee C. Howley Sr. Prize, and Evelyn V. Hess awards; the Distinguished Basic Investigator Award from the American College of Rheumatology; the Lupus Insight Prize from the Lupus Research Alliance; the Carol Nachman Prize for Rheumatology; and the Dr Marian Ropes Physician Achievement Award. He is a Master of the American College of Physicians and the American College of Rheumatology, a member of American Association of Physicians and Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Copyright © 2023 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.