Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Editorial introductions

Editorial introductions

Current Opinion in Psychiatry: May 2006 - Volume 19 - Issue 3 - p VI-VII
doi: 10.1097/01.yco.0000218591.23560.7c
  • Free

Current Opinion in Psychiatry was launched in 1988. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of psychiatry is divided into 13 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Journal's Editors and three of the Section Editors for this issue.

Section Editors

John B. Saunders

Figure 1

John B. Saunders is Professor of Alcohol and Drug Studies at the University of Queensland and Director of the Alcohol and Drug Service of the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital. He qualified in pharmacology and then medicine from the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom and undertook specialist training in internal medicine, gastroenterology and liver disease, and addiction medicine. His career as a clinician, researcher, teacher and administrator in alcohol and drug services extends back over 25 years. His research interests include screening and brief intervention, diagnostic instruments, susceptibility to alcohol-and drug-related disorders, treatment of alcohol and drug dependence, and medical education techniques.

Dr Saunders has worked with the World Health Organization for many years and was responsible for developing the AUDIT questionnaire. He is Editor-in-Chief of the Drug and Alcohol Review, Co-Director of the WHO Collaborating Centre for Mental Health and Substance Abuse, a member of the Australian National Council on Drugs, Secretary of the International Society for Biomedical Research on Alcoholism, Hon. Secretary of the Australasian Chapter of Addiction Medicine of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, and Co-Chair of the DSM V Substance Use Disorders Committee. He has published two books and more than 250 scientific papers and reviews.

Linda B. Cottler

Figure 2

Linda B. Cottler is Professor of Epidemiology in the Department of Psychiatry at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, MO, and Director of the Epidemiology and Prevention Research Group. Her research has focused on methods for conducting research, specifically alcohol and drug abuse and dependence, its comorbidity with other disorders, and consequences, such as HIV and STDs. She is also involved in community based efforts in St. Louis, Miami, Sydney, India, and Taiwan. Specifically,

her contributions include the development of widely used interviews for substance use and other psychiatric disorders (the DIS and SAM), research on the consequences of substance use, nosological issues of substance abuse and dependence, and peer-delivered interventions to reduce high risk behaviors that lead to HIV and other STDs. Recently, her work has focused on women.

Dr Cottler has mentored 30 Post-doc or graduate students, is the Director of an NIMH Post-Doctoral and NIDA Pre and Post-Doctoral Training Program, a Fogarty International Training Program in India, and has won the Academic Women's Network Mentorship Award and the WU Post-Doc Society award for Outstanding Mentorship. She is currently President of the Academic Women's Network at WU. In the 18 years she has been PI, she has published extensively, been on the Editorial Board of a number of journals, and consulted on numerous research studies.

Francine M. Benes

Figure 3

Dr Benes is Professor of Psychiatry (Neuroscience) and an Affiliate of the Program in Neuroscience at Harvard Medical School. She received her bachelor's degree from St. John's University in New York and in 1972 completed a PhD in Cell Biology at Yale School of Medicine. She received postdoctoral training in single cell neurochemistry at the City of Hope National Medical Center in California and later in the Section of Cell Biology at Yale where she studied the release and reformation of synaptic vesicles in frog neuromuscular junction. In 1975, she began medical training at Yale and after graduating in 1978, she completed her psychiatry residency at McLean Hospital and Harvard Medical School. In the past 20 years, Dr Benes' work has been systematically identifying specific ways in which the neural elements related to the glutamate, GABA and dopamine systems are anomalous in the limbic lobe of schizophrenics and bipolars.

Dr Benes is currently Professor of Psychiatry (Neuroscience) at Harvard Medical School and directs the Program in Structural and Molecular Neuroscience at McLean Hospital. Dr Benes has served on the Editorial Boards of many neuroscience and psychiatry journals and has been invited to speak at many international meetings. In 1997, she was invited to present her work at a Nobel Symposium on Schizophrenia that was held at the Karolinska University in Stockholm, Sweden. She has been the recipient of a MERIT Award from the NIMH and, most recently, the Lieber Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Schizophrenia Research from the National Association for Research in Schizophrenia and Depression.

Dr Benes was recently elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of Science in the US.

© 2006 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.