Editorial introductions : Current Opinion in Oncology

Secondary Logo

Journal Logo


Editorial introductions

Editor(s): Curigliano, Giuseppe; Sanson, Marc; Di Stefano, Anna Luisa; Sanz, Miguel A.; Mateos, María-Victoria

doi: 10.1097/CCO.0000000000000907
  • Free

Current Opinion in Oncology was launched in 1989. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of psychiatry is divided into 15 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Journal's Section Editors for this issue.


Giuseppe Curigliano

Giuseppe Curigliano

Giuseppe Curigliano, MD PhD, is Professor of Medical Oncology at the University of Milan, Italy, and the Head of the Division of Early Drug Development at the European Institute of Oncology, Italy. Dr Curigliano serves ESMO as Chair of the Guidelines Committee. He was awarded with the first ESO Umberto Veronesi Award in Vienna in 2017 and with the Fellowship of the European Academy of Cancer Sciences in Paris in 2017. He has contributed to over 550 peer-reviewed publications.

Marc Sanson

Marc Sanson

Marc Sanson, MD, PhD is Professor at Sorbonne Université, Paris, France. He has an activity of clinical neuro-oncology at the Department of Neurology 2, Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital in Paris. He is also head of the research team “Genetic and Development of Brain Tumors” at the Paris Brain Institute (Institut du Cerveau -ICM). He is the Director of the “CURAMUS” site of Sorbonne-Université which is one of the eight French Sites for Integrated Research on Cancer (SiRIC).

Dr Sanson has published many research articles on neuro-oncology, including more than 200 dedicated to gliomas, as well as book chapters, and is a frequently requested lecturer on this topic. His main interest is focused on clinical and translational research on gliomas, including novel targeted therapies, germline and somatic genetic characterisation and development of new biomarkers.

He is a reviewer on a number of journals, including the Journal of Clinical Oncology, Nature cancer, Nature Comm, Science Transl Res, Lancet, Lancet Oncology, Annals of Oncology, Annals of Neurology, Neurology, Cancer, Clinical Cancer Research, Cancer Research, Acta Neuropathologica.

Dr Sanson earned his MD at University Paris V-Descartes and his PhD at University Paris VII-Diderot. He completed a residency in Neurology in Paris, and a post-doctoral stage at McGill University, Canada.

Anna Luisa Di Stefano

Anna Luisa Di Stefano

Dr Anna Luisa Di Stefano, MD, PhD, is neurooncologist at Spedali Riuniti di Livorno in Italy with principal engagements in clinical management of glioma patients, translational research and clinical research. After a fellowship and PhD program in the Neuro-oncology Unit of Pitié Salpétrière in Paris and Paris Brain Institute, France, she coordinated the multidisciplinary neuro-oncology board of Hopital Foch and she is coordinating investigator of an international clinical trial for newly diagnosed glioblastoma patients supported by Institut National du Cancer.

Dr Di Stefano has focused experience on clinical and molecular neuro-oncology of primary brain tumours and she has published many research articles on neuro-oncology dedicated to activable molecular targets such as FGFR3-TACC3 fusion genes and BRAF mutations, advanced imaging for gliomas and genome wide association studies.

Miguel A. Sanz

Miguel A. Sanz

Dr Miguel A. Sanz is Researcher Emeritus of the Instituto de Investigación Sanitaria La Fe, Spain, and Honorary Professor of the Department of Medicine at the University of Valencia, Spain. After earning his medical degree at the University of Salamanca in Spain, he trained as a hematologist at the University Hospital La Fe.

He was appointed as Head of the Clinical Hematology Section to the University Hospital La Fe in 1977 and then later promoted to Head of the Hematology Department in 2007 as well as Full Professor of Medicine at the University of Valencia.

Professor Sanz is Chairman of the Spanish PETHEMA Group and leads the Working Party of acute myeloid leukemia. He is currently a reviewer for numerous high-profile medical journals, including all top hematology journals, and has authored more than 620 peer-reviewed papers, numerous book chapters, and in excess of 1100 abstracts at national and international meetings. Prof. Sanz has also lectured widely in Europe, North, central and South America, as well as in the Middle East and Asia, serving as lecturer at the American Society of Hematology and European Hematology Association meetings in several occasions.

María-Victoria Mateos

María-Victoria Mateos

Dr María-Victoria Mateos, MD, PhD, is Consultant Physician in the Haematology Department and Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Salamanca, Spain. She is the director of the Myeloma Program and coordinates the Clinical Trials Unit.

She serves as coordinator of GEM (Spanish Myeloma Group), with direct involvement in the design and development of clinical trials. She has coordinated many clinical trials especially in the smouldering myeloma setting and these trials have profoundly influenced current options for the management of these patient populations.

She has published over 300 original papers in international journals and her articles had received 29.452 citations (19268 since 2015) with a H index of 79 and 60 since 2015.

She is also a member of the IMWG (International MM Working Group), IMS (International MM Society), EHA and ASH. Among her invited presentations, she has contributed to the educational sessions of EHA, ASH and ASCO several times.

She has served on the ASH Scientific Committee on plasma cell diseases between 2015 and 2019, and on the EHA's Scientific Program Committee and Advisory Board since 2013 until 2020 being chair of the Scientific Program Committee in 2019.

She has been Councillor on the EHA Board since 2015 for a four-year mandate and she remains as member of the Steering Committee for the Society of Hematologic Oncology (SOHO), member of the IMS executive board and member of the European School of Haematology (ESH) Scientific committee. She received the Briand Durie Award in 2019 recognizing excellence in myeloma research.

Copyright © 2022 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.