Secondary Logo

Journal Logo


Editorial introductions

Section Editor(s): Lebbe, Céleste; Hainaut, Pierre; Park, Sophie

Current Opinion in Oncology: March 2020 - Volume 32 - Issue 2 - p v-vi
doi: 10.1097/CCO.0000000000000612
  • Free

Current Opinion in Oncology was launched in 1989. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of psychiatry is divided into 15 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Journal's Section Editors for this issue.


Céleste Lebbe

Céleste Lebbe

Professor Lebbe has particular interest in the field of melanoma, merkel cell carcinoma and Kaposi's sarcoma where she conducts clinical and translational research. She has been Principal Investigator in more than 50 clinical trials in the field of dermato-oncology.

She coordinates Melbase, a national biobank dedicated to advanced melanoma. She works on therapeutic targets in melanoma (EMMPRIN, PDE4, KINDLIN, cKIT) and biomarkers of resistance to targeted or immunologic treatment in melanoma.

Professor Lebbe is co-author and/or senior author of more than 100 publications in international peer-reviews.

Pierre Hainaut

Pierre Hainaut

Pierre Hainaut is PhD in Biology (Zoology), University of Liège, Belgium, 1987. After postdocs in France and in the UK (1988–1994), he joined the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC, World Health Organization) in 1994, where he held the post of head of Molecular Carcinogenesis from 1999 to 2011. In 2013, he was awarded a Chair of Excellence in Translational Research at University Grenoble-Alpes and since 2014, he is Director of the Institute for Advanced Biosciences, a research center dedicated to Epigenetics, Chronic Diseases and Cancer.

His research focuses on TP53 mutations and p53 protein regulation in cancer and chronic diseases. From 1994 to 2011, he led the development of the international IARC database of TP53 mutations, a worldwide source of information on the causes and consequences of mutations affecting the p53 suppressor protein in cancer. His work addresses mechanisms of mutagenesis and prognostic/predictive significance of TP53 mutations in several cancers including liver, lung and oesophagus. Hi mechanistic studies on p53 focus on the biochemistry of p53 conformational control by metalloregulation and oxidation-reduction and on the identification of p53 isoforms as factors acting as dominant inhibitors of p53 function. His current research address the diversity of TP53 mutations and genetic and non-genetic factors that modulate the penetrance of the Li-Fraumeni Syndrome, a familial cancer predisposition caused by germline TP53 mutation.

Pierre Hainaut is author of over 450 publications and 50 book chapters. He has co-edited two books on p53 (25 Years of p53 Research 2005, 2007, p53 in the Clinics, Springer) and a textbook of molecular epidemiology (Molecular Epidemiology: Principle and Practice, IARC Press, 2011), a two-volume textbook on Human Biobanking (Human Biobanking, Principle and Practice, 2017, 2018) and is currently co-editing with Paolo Boffetta the 3rd edition of Elsevier's Encyclopedia of Cancer (2018).

Sophie Park

Sophie Park

Professor Sophie Park, is MD and PhD from Paris V University, Cochin Hospital, France. She has done a postdoc in the UK at Cancer Research UK in the laboratory of Dominique Bonnet. Since 2014, she has been appointed as Professor of Hematology at University and Hospital Grenoble Alpes, France.

She is the Head of the Hematology Department of Hospital Grenoble Alpes since 2019. Her specialty is myelodysplastic syndromes. She holds fundamental research in the niche and exosomes field, and on the iron metabolism in myelodysplastic syndromes. She has organized the 11th Congress of Myelodyplastic Syndromes of the French Group of Myelodysplastic syndromes (GFM) in 2016 in Grenoble.

She has authored more than 90 publications and more than 10 book chapters.

She is a member of the editorial committee of “Innovations Thérapeutiques en Oncologie”, a member of the scientific board of the GFM and a member of the French, European and American Society of Hematology. She was awarded the Zittoun Price of the French Society of Hematology in 2013 for her work on anemia in myelodysplastic syndromes.

Copyright © 2020 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.