Editorial introductions : Current Opinion in Gastroenterology

Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Editorial introductions

Editorial introductions

Current Opinion in Gastroenterology: January 2010 - Volume 26 - Issue 1 - p vii-viii
doi: 10.1097/MOG.0b013e328334e415
  • Free

Current Opinion in Gastroenterology was launched in 1985. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of gastroenterology is divided into 12 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce one of the Section Editors for this issue.


Daniel K. Podolsky

Figure 1

Daniel K. Podolsky is President and the Philip O'Bryan Montgomery, Jr., M.D. Distinguished Presidential Chair in Academic Administration at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, where he also holds the Doris and Bryan Wildenthal Distinguished Chair in Medical Science.

Dr Podolsky received both his undergraduate and medical degrees from Harvard University, followed by residency training in Internal Medicine, and fellowship in Gastroenterology at Massachusetts General Hospital. He joined the faculty of Harvard Medical School and the staff of Massachusetts General Hospital in 1981. In 1989 Dr Podolsky was appointed chief of gastroenterology at Massachusetts General Hospital where he oversaw a dynamic program of research and training in addition to a comprehensive program of clinical care in gastroenterology for nearly twenty years. In 1991, Dr Podolsky established a multidisciplinary Center for the Study of Inflammatory Bowel Disease funded through the NIDDK Digestive Disease Center program. He also served as Mallinckrodt Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He is the author of more than 300 original research and review articles. Dr Podolsky has also mentored over 75 post doctoral research fellows who are now advancing the field of gastroenterology. He is the past editor-in-chief of the journal Gastroenterology and serves in an active role in a number of national organizations including the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and is past president of the American Gastroenterological Association.

Section Editors

Mitchell Cohen

Figure 2

Mitchell B. Cohen, MD, completed his pediatric training at Johns Hopkins Hospital and entered the public health service where he served at the Keams Canyon Indian Hospital on the Hopi Reservation in northeast Arizona. Subsequently, he completed a pediatric gastroenterology and nutrition fellowship at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center.

Dr Cohen has had a long-standing interest in the pathophysiology of diarrheal diseases and continues to direct basic science and clinical research programs related to intestinal secretion and infection. These programs include studies of the guanylin family of intestinal peptides, epidemiology and pathogenesis of diarrheagenic E. coli and studies of human cholera and typhoid fever vaccines.

Dr Cohen is the Director of Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition and Vice-Chair of Pediatrics for Clinical Affairs at Cincinnati Children's. He is also the Associate Director of the NIDDK-funded Silvio O. Conte Digestive Diseases Research Core Centers (DDRCC) entitled Digestive Health Center (DHC): Bench-to-Bedside Research in Pediatric Digestive Disease and the director of the NIH-funded Fellowship Training Program in Pediatric Gastroenterology.

Dr Cohen is active in the North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition (NASPGHAN) where he has served as president. He is also active in the American Gastroenterological Association, where he has served as chair of the section on Growth Development and Nutrition and currently serves on the Research Policy Committee. He is a member of the Clinical Research Committee of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation (CFFTI), and has served as permanent and ad hoc member on a number of NIH study sections and the National Commission on Digestive Diseases.

Ciarán P. Kelly

Figure 3

Ciarán P. Kelly, MD, is Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, Chief of the Herrman L. Blumgart Internal Medicine Firm, Director of Gastroenterology Training and Medical Director of the Celiac Center at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, Massachussets. Dr. Kelly earned his medical degree from Trinity College in Dublin, Ireland where he was a Foundation Scholar and recipient of numerous academic awards. Dr Kelly has also received postgraduate clinical and research awards from the Crohn's and Colitis Foundation of America, the American Gastroenterological Association and the National Institutes of Health. He is an American Gastroenterology Association Fellow and a Fellow of the American College of Gastroenterology.

Dr Kelly has longstanding clinical and research interests in intestinal infection and inflammation. He has been involved in patient care and research in Clostridium difficile infection for more than 20 years and leads NIH-funded research programs that evaluate potential C. difficile vaccines and other immune-based treatments. His interst in the pathophysiology, diagnosis and management of celiac disease is also longstanding and, as Medical Director of the Celiac Center at BIDMC which he founded in 2004, he heads clinical, research and educational programs in celiac disease.

Dr Kelly has served as a committee member of the NIH, Center for Scientific Review as well as FDA, CDC and NIH committees on celiac disease and C. difficile infection. Dr Kelly is the author of numerous clinical and basic research book chapters, invited reviews, and more than 90 peer-reviewed publications appearing in such journals as Infection & Immunity, American Journal of Physiology, Gastroenterology, Journal of Biological Chemistry, Journal of Clinical Investigation, New England Journal of Medicine and Lancet.

© 2010 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.