Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Editorial introductions

Editorial introductions

Current Opinion in Gastroenterology: May 2009 - Volume 25 - Issue 3 - p vii
doi: 10.1097/MOG.0b013e32832a5a8b
  • Free

Current Opinion in Gastroenterology was launched in 1985. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of gastroenterology is divided into 12 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Section Editors for this issue.

Section Editors

Daniel S. Pratt

Daniel S. Pratt is Assistant Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA and Director of the Liver-Biliary-Pancreas Center at the Massachusetts General Hospital. A native of Massachusetts, he received his undergraduate degree from Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine and his medical degree from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He completed his internal medicine residency and fellowship training in gastroenterology and hepatology at the Tufts-New England Medical Center in Boston, Massachusetts.

After completing his fellowship, he spent nine years on the Tufts University School of Medicine faculty and seven years serving as the medical director of Liver Transplantation at the Tufts-New England Medical Center. In 2004 he joined the GI Unit at the Massachusetts General Hospital. A recipient of multiple awards for teaching medical students, medical residents, and gastroenterology/hepatology fellows, he has published over 50 original articles, reviews, book chapters, and editorials. Dr Pratt has a particular clinical and research interests in cholestatic liver disease and hepatobiliary malignancies.

Gregory J. Gores

Figure 1
Figure 1

Gregory J. Gores, MD, Reuben R. Eisenberg Endowed Professor of Medicine and Physiology, is Chair of the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine. A native of North Dakota, he received his undergraduate (Phi Beta Kappa) and MD (Alpha Omega Alpha) degrees from the University of North Dakota. He received his training in Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology at Mayo, Rochester, Minnesota. During his Gastroenterology Fellowship he was an NIH fellow in the laboratory of Dr Nicholas F. LaRusso. Before assuming a faculty position at Mayo in 1988, he was a Mayo foundation scholar at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in the laboratory of John J. LeMasters, PhD, MD. A member of the American Association for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians, he is a past president of the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD), and a member of the Gastroenterology Research Group (GRG) Steering Committee. He has also served on committees for the American Gastroenterological Association and the American Society of Transplantation, and chaired the Hepatobiliary Pathobiology NIH Study Section. Due to his breadth and depth of interests, he has served as an Associate Editor for Hepatology on two separate terms and once for Gastroenterology, the leading journals in their fields. He is the recipient of a highly prestigious and competitive NIH MERIT Award and the Principal Investigator of two additional R01 grants from the NIH. He has co-authored more than 230 original articles and over 180 editorials, reviews and book chapters. Through 2008, his work has been cited over 12,000 times. Well respected as a mentor, he has mentored over 60 post-doctoral research and clinical fellows and visited innumerable national and international Academic Institutions. His clinical and research contributions include advances in our understanding of hepatobiliary malignancies, liver transplantation and mechanisms of liver cell injury.

© 2009 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.