Secondary Logo

Journal Logo


Editorial introductions

Section Editor(s): Van Aken, Hugo; Perrino, Albert C. Jr; Kiefmann, Rainer

Current Opinion in Anaesthesiology: February 2020 - Volume 33 - Issue 1 - p v-vi
doi: 10.1097/ACO.0000000000000822
  • Free

Current Opinion in Anesthesiology was launched in 1988. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of anesthesiology is divided into 15 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Journal's Editor and Section Editors for this issue.


Hugo Van Aken

Hugo Van Aken

Dr Hugo Van Aken has been Professor and Chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology, Intensive Care Medicine and Pain Therapy at University Hospital Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, Germany since August 1995, and became Professor Emeritus in August 2016. From 1986 until 1995 he was Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology at the Catholic University of Louvain, Belgium. He has been Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the University Hospital Bonn, Germany since April 2015.

He is currently Editor-in-Chief for Current Opinion in Anesthesiology and Editor for Best Practice & Research: Clinical Anesthesiology, as well as a member of several anesthetic international editorial boards and scientific societies.

From 1999 to 2011, he served as member of the Board of Trustees of the International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS). From 2001 until the end of 2006, he was President of the DAAF (German Academy of Education in Anesthesiology). From 2000 to 2004, he was President of the European Academy of Anesthesiology (EAA). Following the amalgamation of the three major European anesthesia organizations, he served as Secretary of the new European Society of Anesthesiology (ESA) from 2005 to 2006. From 2008 to 2011 he was Chairman of the National Anesthesia Societies Committee (NASC) of the ESA. From 2007 to 2008 he was President of the German Society of Anesthesiology and Intensive-Care Medicine (DGAI). Since 2009, he has been the Secretary General of the DGAI. Since 2012, he has been a member of the Executive Committee of the World Federation of Societies of Anesthesiology (WFSA) and Liaison Officer for the World Health Organization (WHO) as member of the Executive Committee of the WFSA. Since 2013, he has been the Founding Chairman of European Patient Safety Foundation (EUPSF).

Dr Van Aken has been an honorary member of the American Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA) since 1990. In 1992, he became an honorary member of the Polish Society of Anesthesiology and Intensive-Care Therapy, and in 2000 he was made an honorary member of the Belgian Society of Anesthesia and Resuscitation. He is a fellow of the Royal College of Anesthetists (FRCA) and a fellow of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anesthetists (FANZCA). In 2003, he was elected as an honorary member of the Association of Anesthesiologists of Georgia and as an honorary member of the American Society of Anesthesiology. In 2007, he was awarded an honorary membership to the Czech Society of Anesthesiology and Intensive-Care Medicine and in 2009 an honorary membership to the German Society of Internal Medicine, as well as honorary membership of the Dutch Society of Anesthesiology. In 2009 he was appointed as a member of the German National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina). In 2012 he became an honorary member of the Chinese Society of Anesthesiology. In July 2015 he received, for his outstanding activities in the medical field, the Cross of Merit (First Class) of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Dr Van Aken is author of more than 596 articles in current content listed journals and many chapters in national and international textbooks, and has a variety of major research interests including regional anesthesia, fluid management, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, intestinal microcirculation and sepsis.


Albert C. Perrino, Jr

Albert C. Perrino, Jr

Dr Albert C. Perrino, Jr is a Professor at Yale School of Medicine's Anesthesiology Department in New Haven, Connecticut, USA and Chief of Anesthesiology at the VA Connecticut Healthcare System. Following education at Brown University, USA, and the University of Pennsylvania, USA, he completed his residency and fellowship training at Yale New Haven Hospital with a focus in adult cardio-thoracic anesthesiology.

His academic contributions are widely recognized in the fields of echocardiography and fluid therapy where he has authored numerous original research papers, textbooks, and reviews. He is Co-Editor of the bench reference of intraoperative echocardiography Practical Approach to TEE. In addition, he is an internationally renowned speaker and served on the faculty of the American Society of Echocardiography, American Society of Anesthesiologists, Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists, World Congress of Anaesthesiologists, European Society of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiologists, Asian Society of Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, Thoracic Anesthesia Symposium, amongst others.

He is a current Board of Director for the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists and serves as the Board Liaison for the Thoracic Anesthesia Symposium, the preeminent gathering of thoracic specialists. He has previously served as the Current Opinion Editor for Technology, Education, and Training.

Rainer Kiefmann

Rainer Kiefmann

Dr Rainer Kiefmann, MD, PhD, is a full Professor for Geriatric Anesthesia at the University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf, Germany, founded by “Johanna und Fritz Buch Gedächtnis-Stiftung”. Dr Kiefmann is head of the section “Geriatric Anesthesia” at the German Society for Anesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine and member of the European Society of Anaesthesiology. In addition, Dr Kiefmann is the chair of the Department of Anesthesia at the Red Cross Hospital in Munich, Germany. From 2006–2014, Dr Kiefmann joined a research program at the Columbia University in New York, USA, granted by the German Research Foundation. Before, Dr Kiefmann completed his residency at the Department of Anesthesiology Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich, Germany.

Currently, Dr Kiefmann researches on perioperative treatment bundles to optimize perioperative medical care especially for the elderly in order to improve their postoperative outcome.

Copyright © 2020 YEAR Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.