Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Editorial introductions

Editorial introductions

Current Opinion in Anaesthesiology: April 2005 - Volume 18 - Issue 2 - p i-ii
doi: 10.1097/
  • Free

Current Opinion in Anesthesiology was launched in 1988. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of anaesthesiology is divided into 15 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce three of the Journal's Section Editors for this issue.

Section Editor

Prof. Konrad Reinhart

Figure 1
Figure 1

Dr. Reinhart attended the Free University of Berlin. He graduated there and became a Professor in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine. He was Visiting Associate Professor at the Department of Physiology and Biophysics and the Department of Anaesthesiology, University of Alabama, Birmingham. In 1993 he became chairman of the Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine at the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena.

He is active in many societies – he is chairman of the section Intensive Care of the European Society of Anaesthesiologists (ESA); member of the section Sepsis of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) and chairman of the section Intensive Care Medicine of the German Society of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine (DGAI). In November 2002, Professor Reinhart became the Founding President of the German Sepsis Society. Since 2003 he is member of the steering committee of the International Sepsis Forum (ISF).

He published several monographs on Sepsis and has published in the oxygen transport and sepsis areas. He is speaker of a publicly funded nationwide network that performs clinical research in sepsis.

Dr. Keith A Candiotti

Figure 2
Figure 2

Dr. Candiotti received his undergraduate degree from Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri. He completed a residency in Internal Medicine and then Anesthesiology at the University of Miami / Jackson Memorial Hospital in Miami, Florida.

In 1995 he joined the Anesthesiology staff at the University of Miami as the Program Director as well as the Chief of the Division of Perioperative Medicine. He is a member of the Trauma Anesthesia team and is the Anesthesia Advisor to the Public Health Trust on weapons of mass destruction.

His research interest are in the areas of consciousness monitoring, post-operative nausea and vomiting, surgical interleukin responses, pharmacogenetics and the anesthetic management of patients exposed to weapons of mass destruction.

He is a frequent lecturer on these subjects, having given over 100 lectures in the past 2 years.

Prof. Thomas Bruessel

Figure 3
Figure 3

Dr. Bruessel obtained his medical degree at the University of Hamburg in Germany. After a two-year postdoctoral research fellowship in critical care at Harvard University he completed his residency training in anesthesiology and critical care medicine at the University of Muenster, Germany in 1990.

In 1993, he received his PhD at the University of Muenster and became Associate Professor of Anesthesia in Muenster in 1995. The Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists granted him Fellowship by election in 2001. Dr Bruessel became Chair of Anaesthesia of the University of Sydney, Canberra Medical School in 2002. Since 2003 he holds the Inaugurational Chair of Anaesthesia of the Australian National University, which is affiliated with The Canberra Hospital and the John Curtin School of Medical Research.

Dr Bruessel scientific interests are in the field of neuroanaesthesia, anaesthesia/ critical care in endocrine disorders and gastrointestinal perfusion. Recently pre-admission clinic and clinical administration covering hospital funding, resource management and clinical governance has become an additional focus. He is a frequent lecturer, having given over 100 invited lectures at national and international scientific meetings. He is author or co-author of over 50 peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, reviews and abstracts.

© 2005 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.