Editorial introductions : Current Opinion in Anesthesiology

Secondary Logo

Journal Logo


Editorial introductions

Editor(s): Kuza, Catherine M.; De Robertis, Edoardo

Current Opinion in Anaesthesiology 36(2):p v, April 2023. | DOI: 10.1097/ACO.0000000000001250
  • Free

Current Opinion in Anesthesiology was launched in 1988. It is one of a successful series of review journals whose unique format is designed to provide a systematic and critical assessment of the literature as presented in the many primary journals. The field of anesthesiology is divided into 16 sections that are reviewed once a year. Each section is assigned a Section Editor, a leading authority in the area, who identifies the most important topics at that time. Here we are pleased to introduce the Journal's Section Editors for this issue.


Catherine M. Kuza

Catherine M. Kuza

Dr Catherine M. Kuza, MD, FASA is an Associate Professor of Anesthesiology in the Department of Anesthesiology, Division of Critical Care at the Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California (KSOM USC), Los Angeles, USA. She completed her anesthesiology residency training at the University of Massachusetts School of Medicine in Worcester, MA, USA and went on to complete a critical care fellowship at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston, MA, USA. She has been faculty at KSOM USC since 2016, where she served as the Director of Resident Research and Quality Improvement from 2017–2019, and in 2019 became the Director of Trauma Researcher. In 2021 she was appointed Associate Director of the Surgical Intensive Care Unit.

Her areas of research include trauma anesthesiology, emergency preparedness and mass casualties, burns, critical care delirium, and post-intensive care unit syndrome. She enjoys teaching and has served as a mentor in research, anesthesiology, and critical care to numerous medical students, residents, and fellows. She has published a number of journal articles and book chapters related to trauma, burns, critical care, and emergency preparedness. She is an active member of numerous professional societies including the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA). While serving on the ASA Committee of Trauma and Emergency Preparedness, she has spearheaded several multicentre trauma studies.

Edoardo De Robertis

Edoardo De Robertis

Edoardo De Robertis is Professor of Anaesthesiology at the University of Perugia, Italy, where he coordinates the Division of Anaesthesia, Analgesia, and Intensive Care. He is the Director of the clinical university department of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care and director of the Residency Program and School in Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Pain. He is President of the European Society of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care (ESAIC) for the two years term 2022–23. Prof Edoardo De Robertis graduated with honour in Medicine and Surgery at the University of Napoli Federico II, Italy, where he completed his anaesthesiology residency. At the University of Lund, Sweden he received his PhD. Leader of a research group at the University Federico II, Italy, and more recently at the University of Perugia, Italy, Prof De Robertis has been involved in the planning, management and coordination of experimental studies in complex animal models and clinical studies on mechanical ventilation. An innovative system of ventilation aimed at the reduction of airway dead space (ASPIDS) was developed. Prof De Robertis has been actively involved in numerous collaboration and research projects with European partners and in the drafting of guidelines of the European Society of Anesthesiology (ESA/IC). He coordinated for Italy the ESA multicentric study PROVHILO and the ESICM consensus study WELPICUS. Prof De Robertis has focused his research activity on mechanical ventilation in critically ill patients and on the management of peri-operative massive bleeding, with particular attention to postpartum haemorrhage. He is also interested in the preoperative evaluation of the obstetric patient, and in the management of neuromuscular block in pelvic laparoscopic surgery.

Copyright © 2023 Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc. All rights reserved.