Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

INFOLINK: Association News


Advances in Skin & Wound Care: May 2013 - Volume 26 - Issue 5 - p 202
doi: 10.1097/01.ASW.0000429730.54107.30
  • Free

National Pressure Ulcer Advisory Panel

At its recently held 13th National Biennial Conference, the National Pressure Ulcer Advisory Panel (NPUAP) announced a new award, the JoAnn Maklebust Lifetime Achievement Award, with the first recipient being its namesake, JoAnn Maklebust, MSN,RN, ACNS-BC,AOCN, FAAN.MsMaklebust is a founding member of the NPUAP; has co-authored with Mary Sieggreen, MSN, RN, CS, NP, CVN, a pioneering book on pressure ulcers; and has served as past co-editor, along with David Margolis, MD, PhD, for Advances in Skin & Wound Care. Her leadership and advocacy for public policy regarding pressure ulcers are also hallmarks of her remarkable career. In accepting the award, Ms Maklebust shared a poignant story about how having suffered a pressure ulcer during treatment for polio proved to be a powerful stimulus for her lifelong interest in the prevention and treatment of pressure ulcers.

Among the other award winners at the 2013 NPUAP conference was Shilpa Krishnan, MS, who received the Roberta Abruzzese Award, honoring vision, leadership, and education in pressure ulcermanagement. Laura Edsberg, PhD, and Mary Ellen Posthauer, RD, CD, LD, MEP, were co-winners of a first-ever tie for the Kosiak Award, which recognized their significant contributions in preventing and treating pressure ulcers. Another new award, the President’s Special Recognition Award, was presented to Barbara Pieper, PhD, RN, CWOCN, ACNS-BC, FAAN, in recognition of her significant contributions as editor of the monograph, ”Pressure Ulcers: Prevalence, Incidence and Implications for the Future.“

NPUAP award winners (from left to right) are Shilpa Krishnan, MS; Laura Edsberg, PhD; Mary Ellen Posthauer, RD, CD, LD, MEP; Barbara Pieper, PhD, RN, CWOCN, ACNS-BC, FAAN; JoAnn Maklebust, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC, AOCN, FAAN; and presenter and 2013 NPUAP President, Aimee Garcia, MD, CWS, FACCWS. Photo/courtesy Elizabeth A. Ayello, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, CWON, ETN, MAPWCA, FAAN
© 2013 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.