Affiliated Society : The American Journal of Dermatopathology

Journal Logo

Affiliated Society

International Society of Dermatopathology (ISDP)

The International Society of Dermatopathology was founded in 1979 by A. Bernard Ackerman, MD, who also served as its first president. Other luminaries who have served as presidents of the Society include Gerald Pierard of Belgium; Helmut Kerl of Austria; John Maize of the United States; Günter Burg of Germany and Switzerland; Daniel Su of the United States; Jorge Sánchez of Puerto Rico; Lorenzo Cerroni of Austria; and Omar Sangueza of the United States. The aims and objectives of the Society are to increase knowledge of the structure and function of the skin and of diseases of the skin by microscopy. The Society intends to promote friendship and scientific exchanges among its members of different countries; to sponsor international and regional meetings; and to sponsor educational events.