Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Advisory Board

​​The Advisory Board of Advances in Nursing Science is a group of professional nurses and other health care professionals who are committed to the development of nursing as a discipline. Membership on the Advisory Board affords the individual the opportunity to participate in the evolution of ANS as a vital literature source for professional nurses and others in the health care professions. Advisory Board members serve for a minimum of two years.

Advisory Board Members

JoAnne Banks, RN, PhD
Winston-Salem State University​

Helene Berman, RN, PhD
University of Western Ontario

Jacquelyn C. Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN
Johns Hopkins University

Mary K. Canales, PhD, RN
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

W. Richard Cowling, III, RN, PhD, CS, FAAN
Chamberlain College of Nursing​

Jane K. Dickinson, RN, PhD, CDCES 
Teachers College Columbia University, New York

Adeline Falk-Rafael, RN, PhD

York University

Eun-Ok Im, PhD, MPH, RN, CNS, FAAN
​Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia​

Paula N. Kagan, PhD, RN​
Humanities Center, DePaul University

Cheryl Killion, PhD, RN, FAAN
Case Western Reserve University

M. Katherine Maeve, RN, PhD
Charlie Norwood VAMC, Augusta, GA​

Afaf Ibrahim Meleis, PhD, DrPS (hon), FAAN
University of Pennsylvania

Lucy Mkandawire-Valhmu, RN, PhD
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Leslie Nicoll, PhD, RN
MaineDesk, LLC

Cherlie Magny-Normilus, PhD, FNP-BC, RN
Research Scholar, Boston College

Geraldine S. Pearson, PhD, PMH-CNS, FAAN
University of Connecticut

Margaret Dexheimer Pharris, PhD, RN, MPH, AHN-BC, FAAN
St. Catherine University

Carol Polifroni, EdD, RN
University of Connecticut

Mona Shattell, PhD, RN, FAAN
Rush University, Chicago, IL

Marlaine C. Smith, RN, PhD, HNC
Florida Atlantic University

Alice M. Tse, PhD, RN, APRN, FAAN
University of Hawaii at Manoa  

Jean Watson, RN, PhD, FAAN
University of Colorado Health Sciences Center

Helly Wei, PhD, RN, CPN, NEA-BC
East Carolina University

University of Wisconsin-Madison