Secondary Logo

Journal Logo


2010 Lawrence A. Golding Student Scholarship Winners Named

ACSM's Health & Fitness Journal: March 2010 - Volume 14 - Issue 2 - p 3
doi: 10.1249/FIT.0b013e3181d4e6b5
  • Free

In Brief

The fifth annual Lawrence A. Golding Student Health/Fitness Scholarship winners will be presented with their awards during a keynote session at ACSM's Health & Fitness Summit & Exposition in Austin, TX, April 7 to 10. The recipients, Eric Cruz from Missouri State University and Kara Hutchins from the University of Saint Thomas, will both be awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

2010 Lawrence A. Golding Student Scholarship Eric Cruz from Missouri State University.

The scholarship, awarded in honor of Lawrence A. Golding, Ph.D., FACSM, was created to publicly recognize undergraduate students who have made significant contributions to their communities in health, fitness, and/or education. The annual scholarship is underwritten by Healthy LearningTM and awards a $1,000 scholarship to both a male and female undergraduate student in their sophomore, junior, or senior year.

Cruz expressed his appreciation for being named one of the recipients. "This award shows that my hard work along with my passion for health and fitness is really paying off and getting noticed by authoritative figures in the industry," Cruz said. He is currently working as a fitness instructor and trainer while pursing a Bachelor's degree in Movement and Exercise Sciences. He also is an ACSM Certified Health Fitness SpecialistSM. Next, Cruz said that he would like to continue his education by pursuing a Master's degree in Exercise Physiology and Nutrition while continuing to work in the field. He attributes his passion for health and fitness to his parents, who modeled an active healthy lifestyle, and to his cousin, who has acted as a mentor to him through his own fitness career. Cruz recommends that other health and fitness students take what they are learning in the classrooms and apply it in their own lives.

Hutchins said that this award represents her hard work and passion for the health industry. She thanks Dr. Golding, the scholarship committee, and Healthy LearningTM for providing her with an outstanding opportunity and recognition. She is currently a teaching assistant in the Health and Human Performance Department and a full-time student. She is looking forward to this spring when she will work as a corporate fitness center intern. Hutchins cited her future goals as helping others and pursuing a doctorate in exercise physiology or nutrition. Hutchins noted that two of her professors, Drs. Bridget Duoos and Daniel Carey, inspired and equipped her to succeed in the field. She advised other students to "take advantage of mentors and extracurricular opportunities […] talking and getting to know these people is more valuable than any textbook you can buy."

Kara Hutchins from the University of Saint Thomas.

Dr. Golding has been a member of ACSM since 1961 and has been a professional in the field of kinesiology and physical education for more than 50 years. Dr. Golding is the founding editor-in-chief of ACSM's Health & Fitness Journal® and was the chair of ACSM's Health & Fitness Summit Program Planning Committee for 12 years. Dr. Golding said that this year's winners represent the kind of students and professionals that the health and fitness field needs and that he looks forward to meeting Cruz and Hutchins at the Summit and presenting them with the scholarship checks. To learn more about the Lawrence A. Golding Student Health/Fitness Scholarship and other student resources, visit the Student Affairs section of the ACSM Web site (

© 2010 American College of Sports Medicine