Academic Medicine

Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Journal Masthead


Laura Weiss Roberts, MD, MA
Stanford University

​​​​​​​​Director of Journals

Mary Beth DeVilbiss​

Managing Editor

Jennifer Campi​

Editorial Staff

Toni F. Gallo
Heather Grimm
Laura C. Blyton
Melissa DeCosmo
Jennifer F. Wilson
Michael W. Cameron​
​John Nash

Publisher’s Editor
Gretchin Gifford


Send editorial correspondence to:

Academic Medicine
655 K Street, NW, Suite 100
Washington, DC 20001-2399

Inquiries only:

E-mail: [email protected] 

All content in Academic Medicine reflects the views of the author(s) and does not reflect the official policy or views of the AAMC, the editors, or editorial board members unless clearly specified.


For Translation approval, License to republish
and distribute, or Permission to reuse material in another publication or presentation, please email one of the following:

[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]


Deputy Editors 
Bridget C. O'Brien, PhD
University of California, San Francisco
School of Medicine

Colin P. West, MD, PhD
Mayo Clinic

Associate Editors
Teresa M. Chan, MD, MHPE
McMaster University

John Coverdale, MD, MEd

Baylor College of Medicine

Monica L. Lypson, MD, MHPE
Columbia University Vagelos
College of Physicians and Surgeons​

Assistant Editor for AM Last Pages
Anthony R. Artino Jr, PhD
The George Washington University
School of Medicine & Health Sciences

Assistant Editor for Medicine and the Arts 
Arno K. Kumagai, MD
University of Toronto 
Temerty Faculty of Medicine

Assistant Editor for Letters to the Editor 
Irene Alexandraki, MD, MPH​
University of Arizona
College of Medicine - Phoenix

Assistant Editor for Trainee Engagement

Dilpreet K. Kaeley
University of Toledo
College of Medicine and Life Sciences

Assistant Editor for Teaching and Learning Moments

Paula Y. Thompson, PhD, MA
University of Michigan
Michigan Medicine

​​Consulting Statistical Editor 
Yoon Soo Park, PhD
Harvard Medical School
Massachusetts General Hospital

Assistant Editors 
Jonathan M. Amiel, MD​
Columbia University Vagelos
College of Physicians and Surgeons

Megan E.L. Brown, MBBS(H), PhD
Imperial College London
Medical Education Innovation and Research Centre (MEdIC)

Laura E. Hirshfield, PhD
University of Illinois at
Chicago College of Medicine

Gustavo A. Patino, MD, PhD
Oakland University
William Beaumont School of Medicine

Daniel J. Schumacher, MD, PhD, MEd
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine

Editorial Board

M. Brownell Anderson
National Board of Medical Examiners

Allison C. Augustus-Wallace, PhD, MS, MNS
LSU Health New Orleans
School of Medicine

Carrie L. Byington, MD
University of California Health

Keisa Fallin-Bennett, MD, MPH
University of Kentucky
College of Medicine

Krisztina Fischer, MD, PhD, MMSc
Harvard Medical School

Joseph R. Geraghty
University of Illinois at Chicago
College of Medicine

Michael Gottlieb, MD
Rush University Medical Center

Frederic W. Hafferty, PhD
Mayo Clinic

Grace Huang, MD (ex officio)
Harvard Medical School
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Brenessa Lindeman, MD, MEHP
University of Alabama Birmingham
School of Medicine

Brian M. Wong, MD
University of Toronto
Temerty​ Faculty of Medicine



Past Editors-in-Chief
Fred C. Zapffe, 1926–1950
Dean F. Smiley, 1951–1957
John Z. Bowers, 1958–1962
John A. D. Cooper, 1963–1971
Merrill McCord, 1972–1988
Addeane S. Caelleigh, 1989–2001
Michael E. Whitcomb, 2002–2007
Steven L. Kanter, 2008–2012
David P. Sklar, 2013–2019

Journal Oversight Committee
Sheldon M. Retchin, MD, MSPH (chair)
The Ohio State University
Wexner Medical Center

Peter F. Buckley, MD
University of Tennessee
Health Science Center

Daniel A. Hashimoto, MD, MS
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania

Steven L. Kanter, MD

Association of Academic Health Centers

Catherine R. Lucey, MD
University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine

Consuelo H. Wilkins, MD, MSCI

Vanderbilt University Medical Center
and Meharry Medical College

Valerie Williams, PhD, MPA
University of Oklahoma 
Health Sciences Center