Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Institutional members access full text with Ovid®

Navigating Tumultuous Change in the Medical Profession

The Coalition for Physician Accountability

Chaudhry, Humayun J. DO, MS; Kirch, Darrell G. MD; Nasca, Thomas J. MD; Katsufrakis, Peter J. MD, MBA; McMahon, Graham T. MD, MMSc; Shannon, Stephen C. DO, MPH; Ciccone, Andrea L. JD

doi: 10.1097/ACM.0000000000002801
AM Rounds Blog Post

Collaboration among the national organizations responsible for self-regulation in medicine in the United States is critical, as achieving the quadruple aim of enhancing the patient experience and improving population health while lowering costs and improving the work life of clinicians and staff is becoming more challenging. The leaders of the national organizations responsible for accreditation, assessment, licensure, and certification recognize this and have come together as the Coalition for Physician Accountability. The coalition, which meets twice per year, was created in 2011 as a discursive space for group discussion and action related to advancing health care, promoting professional accountability, and improving the education, training, and assessment of physicians. The coalition offers a useful avenue for members to seek common ground and develop constructive, thoughtful solutions to common challenges. Its members have endorsed consensus statements about current topics relevant to health care regulation, advanced innovation in medical school curricula, encouraged a plan for single graduate medical education accreditation for physicians holding MD and DO degrees, supported interprofessional education, championed opioid epidemic mitigation strategies, and supported initiatives responsive to physician workforce shortages, including the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, an expedited pathway by which eligible physicians may be licensed to practice in multiple jurisdictions.

H.J. Chaudhry is president and CEO, Federation of State Medical Boards, Euless, Texas.

D.G. Kirch is president emeritus, Association of American Medical Colleges, Washington, DC. The author was president and CEO at the time of writing.

T.J. Nasca is president and CEO, Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, Chicago, Illinois.

P.J. Katsufrakis is president and CEO, National Board of Medical Examiners, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

G.T. McMahon is president and CEO, Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, Chicago, Illinois.

S.C. Shannon is president and CEO, American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine, Bethesda, Maryland.

A.L. Ciccone is assistant vice president, National Board of Medical Examiners, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

An Academic Medicine Podcast episode featuring this article is available through iTunes and the Apple Podcast app, Spotify, GooglePlay, Stitcher, and SoundCloud.

Funding/Support: None reported.

Other disclosures: None reported.

Ethical approval: Reported as not applicable.

Disclaimer: Each of the authors is a paid, full-time employee of the organization he or she represents.

Correspondence should be addressed to Humayun J. Chaudhry, Federation of State Medical Boards, 400 Fuller Wiser Rd., Euless, TX 76039; email:; Twitter: @FedMed1.

© 2019 by the Association of American Medical Colleges