Affiliated Society : Journal of Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences

Secondary Logo

Journal Logo

Affiliated Society

The university was established as “Andhra Pradesh University of Health Sciences” by the Government of Andhra Pradesh, by the Act.No. 6 of the Andhra Pradesh legislature and was inaugurated on 9-4-1986 by the late Sri N.T. Rama Rao, the then Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. The University of Health Sciences started functioning at Vijayawada from 01-11-1986. After the death of its founder Sri N.T. Rama Rao the University was named after him as NTR University of Health Sciences, Andhra Pradesh with effect from 2.2.98 vide Act No.4 of 1998.

The main objectives of the Dr.NTRUHS are to improve the standards of medical education and research by implementing uniform curriculum in all courses in all the affiliated institutions. There are 184 affiliated colleges now. The Dr.NTRUHS is governed by the Executive Council, the Finance Committee, the Boards of Studies, the Academic Senate and the Planning Board. The University has Graduate, Post-Graduate Degree and Diploma and Super Specialty courses in Modern Medicine, Graduate and PG Degrees Courses in Dental Surgery, Nursing, Ayurveda, Homeopathy, and Unani, Graduate degree courses in Naturopathy, Physiotherapy and Medical Lab Technology and PG course in M.Sc.Applied Nutrition.

Dr.NTRUHS website: