Institutional members access full text with Ovid®

Share this article on:

Evaluation of Image Quality Metrics for the Prediction of Subjective Best Focus

Kilintari, Marina*; Pallikaris, Aristophanis*; Tsiklis, Nikolaos†; Ginis, Harilaos S.‡

Optometry and Vision Science: March 2010 - Volume 87 - Issue 3 - pp 183-189
doi: 10.1097/OPX.0b013e3181cdde32
Original Article

Purpose. Seven existing and three new image quality metrics were evaluated in terms of their effectiveness in predicting subjective cycloplegic refraction.

Methods. Monochromatic wavefront aberrations (WA) were measured in 70 eyes using a Shack-Hartmann based device (Complete Ophthalmic Analysis System; Wavefront Sciences). Subjective cycloplegic spherocylindrical correction was obtained using a standard manifest refraction procedure. The dioptric amount required to optimize each metric was calculated and compared with the subjective refraction result. Metrics included monochromatic and polychromatic variants, as well as variants taking into consideration the Stiles and Crawford effect (SCE). WA measurements were performed using infrared light and converted to visible before all calculations.

Results. The mean difference between subjective cycloplegic and WA-derived spherical refraction ranged from 0.17 to 0.36 diopters (D), while paraxial curvature resulted in a difference of 0.68 D. Monochromatic metrics exhibited smaller mean differences between subjective cycloplegic and objective refraction. Consideration of the SCE reduced the standard deviation (SD) of the difference between subjective and objective refraction.

Conclusions. All metrics exhibited similar performance in terms of accuracy and precision. We hypothesize that errors pertaining to the conversion between infrared and visible wavelengths rather than calculation method may be the limiting factor in determining objective best focus from near infrared WA measurements.




Institute of Vision and Optics, University of Crete, Heraklion, Crete, Greece.

Received April 23, 2009; accepted November 17, 2009.

© 2010 American Academy of Optometry