Share this article on:

SHOP TALK: New Jobs, Appointments, & Changes; Promotions; Honors; Grants, & Other ‘People News’

doi: 10.1097/01.COT.0000369700.11348.4f
Shop Talk

Gerold Bepler, MD, PhD, has been named President and Chief Executive Officer of the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute at Wayne State University. Dr. Bepler most recently served as Director of the Comprehensive Lung Cancer Research Center, Chair of the Department of Thoracic Oncology, and Program Leader of the Moffitt Cancer Center Lung Cancer Program. At Karmanos, Bepler will also serve as principal investigator of the institute's National Cancer Institute Comprehensive Cancer Center Support Grant; Associate Dean of the Cancer Programs and Director of the Cancer Institute at Wayne State University School of Medicine, and Chair of the coming Department of Oncology there.

Brian J. Druker, MD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Director of Oregon Health and Science University Knight Cancer Institute and the JELD-WEN Chair of Leukemia Research, has been named the 2010 recipient of the Portland First Citizen Award. The award, which will be presented to him next month, has been given annually since 1928 for outstanding contributions to the community.

Margaret Tempero, MD, Deputy Director and Director of Research Programs at the UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, received the 2010 Claude Jacquillat Award for Clinical Cancer Research at the 21st International Congress of Anti-Cancer Therapy in Paris. Dr. Tempero, a former President of the American Society of Clinical Oncology, was recognized for her research in pancreatic cancer and her leadership in the development of translational research for the disease.

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center honored two employees for their accomplishments in the medical and scientific fields at its Moffitt Faculty Appreciation and Recognition Ceremony: Sarah Hoffe, MD, assistant member of the Radiation Oncology Program, was named 2009 Physician of the Year; and Jiandong Chen, PhD, senior member of the Molecular Oncology Program, Researcher of the Year.

Dr. Hoffe specializes in gastrointestinal cancers and takes interest in educating and mentoring medical students and residents in training. She is also active in the community, giving lectures and volunteering as the medical adviser of a cancer survivor group at Sun City Center, a retirement community in West Central Florida. Dr. Chen was honored for his contributions and advances to the understanding of cancer through innovative medical research, specifically study of the p53 gene.

H. Charles Manning, PhD, Assistant Professor of Radiology, Neurosurgery, Biomedical Engineering, and Chemical and Physical Biology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, has received two federal stimulus grants from the National Cancer Institute to study imaging techniques in colorectal cancer. The grants, totaling some $1.6 million over two years, will be used to examine 18F-fluorothymidine in positron emission tomography scans, Annexin-V SPECT imaging, and apparent diffusion coefficient mapping via MRI.

Gary L. Rosner, ScD, has been appointed Professor of Oncology and Director of the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center in the Johns Hopkins's Quality Initiative Sciences Program and Biostatistics/Bioinformatics Division. He was previously at the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center and the University of Texas Health Science Center-Houston, where he was the inaugural Program Director for the Program in Biomathematics and Biostatistics in the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. He also holds adjunct appointments in the Department of Statistics at Rice University and the Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics at Duke University Medical Center.

Also at the Kimmel Cancer Center, Zeshaan Rasheed, MD, PhD, a medical oncology fellow, has been awarded the 2010 Pancreatic Cancer Action Network-AACR Pathway to Leadership Grant. The $600,000, five-year grant will be used to examine the relevance of cancer stem cells in pancreatic adenocarcinoma.

Roswell Park Cancer Institute (RPCI) has appointed Irwin Gelman, PhD, Chair of the Department of Genetics. Dr. Gelman, whose research focuses on prostate cancer therapies, discovered the SSeCKS/Gravin/ AKAP12 gene's promise in stopping metastasis. He has been a member of the RPCI staff since 2003.

Also at RPCI, Yashodhara Satchidanand, MD, has joined the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine as a physician and Assistant Professor in Oncology, with a specialty in palliative care. Dr. Satchidanand comes to RPCI from St. Joseph's Hospital in Cheektowaga, NY, where she served as Director of Palliative Care.

Tammie E. Quest, MD, Associate Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine, with a secondary appointment in the Division of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, has been named Interim Director of the Emory Center for Palliative Care. Dr. Quest is board certified in emergency medicine and hospice and palliative medicine, and is a “Project on Death in America” faculty scholar. She serves as Chief of the Section of Palliative Medicine at Atlanta VA Medical Center, and is the former director of the Georgia Cancer Center for Excellence Palliative Care Oncology Program at Grady Health System.

Also at Emory, Toncred Marya Styblo, MD, Associate Professor of Surgery in the Department of Surgical Oncology in the School of Medicine, received an Outstanding Performance Award from the American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer (COC) for her work as Cancer Liaison Physician. She leads COC initiatives within the Winship Cancer Institute and implements quality-improvement initiatives using tools from the COC's National Cancer Database to facilitate analyses of diagnosis and treatment patterns.

© 2010 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.
Home  Clinical Resource Center
Current Issue       Search OT
Archives Get OT Enews
Blogs Email us!