Share this article on:

Brinker Awards to Endocrine Therapy Researchers

doi: 10.1097/01.COT.0000368889.21759.27

Susan G. Komen for the Cure Brinker Awards for Scientific Distinction were given at the meeting to two basic science researchers and one clinical researcher, recognized for making seminal advances in the fight against breast cancer:

Geoffrey L. Greene, PhD, of the University of Chicago, where he is the Virginia and D.K. Ludwig Professor and Associate Director of the Ben May Department for Cancer Research, Chair of the Committee on Cancer Biology, Associate Director of the Cancer Research Center, and Co-director of the Ludwig Center for Metastasis Research, received a basic science research award for working to determine the molecular mechanisms by which female steroid hormones regulate development, differentiation, cellular proliferation, and survival in hormone-responsive tissues and cancers.

Benita Katzenellenbogen, PhD, of the University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign, where she is Swanlund Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, Cell and Developmental Biology, also received a basic science research award for her work in the genomics of estrogen receptor signaling in breast cancer and endocrine resistance.

Professor Ian Smith of Royal Marsden Hospital in London, where he is Professor of Cancer Medicine at the Institute of Cancer Research and Head of the Breast Unit, won a clinical research award for his work investigating the biology and treatment of breast cancer and lung cancer, and in new drug development. He was involved in the early clinical development of several successful anti-cancer drugs, including letrozole and carboplatin. One of his main interests is in neoadjuvant and short-term preoperative treatments and in the molecular changes associated with these therapies.

© 2010 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.
Home  Clinical Resource Center
Current Issue       Search OT
Archives Get OT Enews
Blogs Email us!