Share this article on:


doi: 10.1097/01.COT.0000287845.37293.7f

The NCI has awarded $13.4 million to two research teams from 10 institutions as part of a new collaborative approach to accelerate protein biomarker research. One of the teams is headed by Samir Hanash, MD, PhD, of the University of Michigan; and the other is led by Martin McIntosh, PhD, and Amanda Paulovich, MD, PhD, of Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. Other members of the teams are: Gilbert Omenn, MD, PhD; David States, MD, PhD; Raju Kucherlapati, PhD; David Sarracino, PhD; Tyler Jacks, PhD; Alice Shaw, MD, PhD; Ronald Dephino, MD; Nabeel Bardeesy, PhD; Brian Haab, PhD; Harold Varmus, MD; Christopher Kemp, PhD; Ruedi Aebersold, PhD; Richard D. Smith, PhD; and N. Leigh Anderson, PhD.

Vera S. Donnenberg, PhD, Assistant Professor of Surgery at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, has been awarded $3.6 million by the US Department of Defense Breast Cancer Research Program for a project involving tumor stem cells.

Also at the University of Pittsburgh, Stanley Marks, MD, Deputy Director for Clinical Services and Chief of Hematology/Oncology has received the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society's John J. Kenny Award, which recognizes members of the medical profession who have significantly contributed to the Society's research, fundraising, and patient services activities. The award honors Dr. John Kenny, a Pittsburgh physician who was one of the Society's early leaders.

The Oncology Nursing Society has honored Balazs Imre Bodai, MD, with the organization's 2005 Public Service Award, in recognition of “his extraordinary commitment to transforming cancer care.” Dr. Bodai is the Director of Breast Surgical Services at Kaiser Permanente in Sacramento, CA; Clinical Professor of Surgery at the University of California, Davis; President of B and B Medical Research Technology, Inc., in Sacramento, and Medical Director of Liv International and Medical Infrared Systems, Inc.

In addition, Susan Bauer-Wu, DNSc, RN, Director at the Phyllis F. Cantor Center for Research in Nursing and Patient Care Services at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, has been selected to present the 2005 ONS Foundation Mara Mogensen Flaherty Memorial Lectureship at the Oncology Nursing Society 30th Annual Congress.

Her lecture, titled “Seeds of Hope, Blossoms of Meaning,” will address her work in creating healing programs for patients, families, and health care professionals. She will also share exemplars that illustrate nurses’ self-care and how seasoned oncology nurses can continue to thrive in their work and personal lives.

Charles Loprinzi, MD, a medical oncologist at the Mayo Clinic, was awarded the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation's Professor of Survivorship. The award recognizes Dr. Loprinzi's more than 15 years of research on key concerns of breast cancer survivors, particularly quality of life.

Errol M. Cook, is the new President of the Lymphoma Research Foundation. Mr. Cook, a 13-year survivor of non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, will lead a 21-member board and oversee the Foundation's 21 chapters across the country.

Harold M. Maurer, MD, a pediatric oncologist who is Chancellor of the University of Nebraska Medical Center, has been named Midlander of the Year by the Omaha World-Herald, the largest daily newspaper in the state.

Julie Monroe, MD, has been named Chief of the Department of Hematology and Oncology at White Plains Hospital Center.

Andre A. Konski, MD, MBA, MA, has been appointed Clinical Research Director for the Department of Radiation Oncology at Fox Chase Cancer Center. He is also Clinical Director of the Prostate Cancer Risk-Assessment Program.

© 2005 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.
Home  Clinical Resource Center
Current Issue       Search OT
Archives Get OT Enews
Blogs Email us!