Share this article on:


doi: 10.1097/01.COT.0000289630.97025.e4
Shop Talk

Irving Weissman, MD, has been chosen to head the newly created Institute for Cancer/Stem Cell Biology and Medicine at Stanford University Medical Center. The multidisciplinary initiative will bring together basic and clinical scientists in an effort to utilize stem cell biology and cancer biology to develop novel treatments for cancer and other diseases. Funded with $12 million from an anonymous donor, the Institute is believed to be the first of its kind in the country. Dr. Weissman, a noted stem cell researcher, is the Beekhuis Professor in Cancer Biology. The Institute plans to develop a new series of embryonic stem cell lines, but said it had no intention of cloning human embryos. Karl Blume, MD, former Director of Stanford's Bone Marrow Transplantation Program, will serve as Director of Clinical Investigation. A Director of Scientific Affairs has not yet been chosen.

Charis Eng, MD, PhD, has been named the first holder of the Klotz Chair in Cancer Research at Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Eng is Director of the Division of Human Genetics in the University's College of Medicine and directs the Clinical Cancer Genetics Program at the James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute.

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSKCC) has established the D. Wayne Calloway Chair in Urologic Oncology and designated Howard Scher, MD, Chief of the Genitourinary Oncology Service, as the incumbent. Dr. Sher's research is focused on developing prostate cancer treatments that target specific mechanisms. Mr. Calloway, the former Chairman and CEO of Pepsico, died of prostate cancer in 1998.

The Center also announced that Bertrand Guillonneau, MD, who heads the Section of Minimally Invasive Surgery in the Department of Urology, has been appointed an MSKCC Member and Mark Jeffrey Bluth, MD, the new Associate Director of Imaging Services at the Suffolk Outpatient Center in Commack, NY, was appointed an Associate Clinical Member.

The Sarcoma Foundation of America has appointed two experts in the field of sarcoma research and treatment to co-chair its Medical Advisory Board. They are Murray Brennan, MD, Chairman of the Department of Surgery at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, and George Demetri, MD, Director of the Center for Sarcoma and Bone Oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

ASCO has announced the appointment of Paula Trahan Rieger, RN, AOCN, FAAN, as the Society's Director of International Affairs. She will work closely with the International Affairs Committee, created to address the Society's expanding role in the international oncology community. Also, Julia McCormack was named Executive Director of the ASCO Foundation. In other news, the Board of Directors approved a proposal to create a standing Committee on Cancer Prevention to replace the Prevention Task Force. Bernard Levin, MD, Vice President of the Division of Cancer Prevention at the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, will be the chair.

Ann Schwartz, PhD, MPH, has been named Associate Director of the Population Sciences Program at Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute. An expert in the genetic epidemiology of lung cancer and the risks of adenocarcinoma of the lung in women, she directs and is principal investigator for the Wayne State University/Karmanos Institute's Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program.

The Doris Duke Charitable Foundation announced the five winners of its fourth Doris Duke Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award. They are: Charis Eng, MD. PhD, Ohio State University; James L.M. Ferrara, MD, University of Michigan Medical School; D. Gary Gilliland, MD, PhD, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Daniel A. Haber, MD, PhD, Harvard University; and Daniel J. Rader, MD, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. Each of the recipients will receive up to $1.5 million to be used over five to seven years.

Two distinguishing attributes of the award are its method of payment, which encourages flexibility by disbursing the entire sum at the beginning of the award period, and the requirement that the awardee use at least one third of the funds to mentor junior researchers and encourage interdisciplinary research.

Susan Pannullo, MD, was chosen to be the first Director of Neuro-Oncology in the Department of Neurological Surgery at New York-Presbyterian Hospital Weill Cornell Medical Center. The new division is a major expansion of the neurosurgery program, offering research and treatment for cancers of the brain and spine. In addition, a new departmental initiative, the New York Brain Tumor Project, will investigate new treatments for brain cancer.

Steven Brem, MD, was named H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center's Physician of the Year. A neurosurgeon, he is the Program Leader of Neuro-Oncology at Moffitt.

The Oncology Nursing Society has presented the following awards: The Distinguished Researcher Award to Victoria Mock, DNSc, AOCN, FAAN, Director of Nursing Research, Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins Hospital; the Distinguished Service Award to Susan L. Beck, PhD, APRN, FAAN, AOCN, Associate Dean for Research and Scholarship, the University of Utah College of Nursing; and the Pearl Moore Making a Difference Award to Bertha Ford, MS, RN, AOCN, Oncology Clinical Specialist for Amgen.

Virginia Caine, MD, is the new President of the American Public Health Association. She is an Associate Professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Indiana University School of Medicine and Director of the Marion County (Indianapolis) Health Department.

Eli Ginzberg, PhD, an internationally known economist and a professor at Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health, died in December at the age of 91. He applied his expertise in economics to the health care system and led pioneering research efforts in that area. An advisor to eight American presidents and many state governors, he wrote on a wide range of medical issues including physician manpower and managed care, whose efficacy he doubted. During his 66 years of active teaching, Dr. Ginzberg never took a sabbatical. He taught his last class just two weeks before he died.

© 2003 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.
Home  Clinical Resource Center
Current Issue       Search OT
Archives Get OT Enews
Blogs Email us!