Nutrition Today

Skip Navigation LinksHome > March/April 2005 - Volume 40 - Issue 2 > Brazilian Food Pyramid
Nutrition Today:

Brazilian Food Pyramid

Philippi, Sonia Tucunduva PhD

Collapse Box


A different version of the Food Pyramid was required because in Brazil food availability, consumption patterns, cooking methods, and eating habits differ from those in America. The increase of obesity in Brazil was another factor that required a specific food guide for Brazilians that would be an efficient instrument for nutrition education. The pyramid is composed of eight major food groups, and common language was used in naming groups: rice, pasta, breads, potatoes, and cassava; vegetables; fruits; milk, yogurt, and cheese; meat, poultry, fish and eggs; dry beans; fats and oils; sugar and sweets. The size of the servings was determined by the consumption pattern and Brazilian food availability. The Brazilian pyramid, which emphasizes local food availability and eating habits, provides a practical icon for remembering and applying various nutrition guidelines for a healthy lifestyle.

© 2005 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Inc.


Article Tools


Article Level Metrics