Grant, Gerald A. MD; Hankinson, Todd MD, MBA; Muh, Carrie MD, MS; Dumont, Aaron MD

doi: 10.1227/NEU.0000000000000006
Front Matter

Duke University, Durham, North Carolina

Aurora, Colorado

Durham, North Carolina

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

The 62nd Annual Meeting of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons was held in Chicago, Illinois from October 6-10, 2012. Volume 60 of Clinical Neurosurgery represents the official compilation of the invited scientific manuscripts from the plenary sessions, the Presidential address by Dr Christopher E. Wolfla, and biographic and bibliographic information of the Honored Guest, Dr Ralph Dacey, Jr.

Dr Ganesh Rao served as the Annual Meeting Chair and Dr Alan Scarrow the Scientific Program Chair, and both organized this truly outstanding meeting. The theme of this year's Annual Meeting was Our Future is Now! The CNS was also honored and delighted to partner with the Central European Neurosurgical Society for this meeting.

Dr Wolfla eloquently delivered the Presidential address and chose the above theme to recreate the excitement of the Chicago World's Fair held in 1933-1934. This theme epitomized Dr Wolfla's challenge to the CNS membership to actively create their own opportunities and shape their future.

Honored Guest and neurosurgery pioneer, Dr Ralph Dacey, Jr, the Henry G. and Edith R. Schwartz Professor and Chairman of Neurosurgery at Washington University, gave three scholarly lectures on the patterns of occurrence and surgical solutions of saccular aneurysms, the external challenges to neurosurgical professionalism, and the impact of the high field strength intraoperative magnetic resonance imaging on brain tumor management. Invited speakers included renowned neuroscientist, Dr John Donoghue, Dr Jonathan Skinner, a prominent health economist, David Weinberger, a senior researcher at Harvard's Berkman Center, and Dandy Orator, Dr Raymond Kurzwell, a well known inventor and futurist.

It has been my distinct honor and privilege to serve as Editor of Clinical Neurosurgery over the year. I would like to thank my outstanding co-editors, Drs Todd Hankinson, Carrie Muh, and Aaron Dumont for their time and dedication to the critical peer review process. I would like to extend a special thank you to Dr Nelson Oyesiku, Editor-in-Chief of Neurosurgery, for his unrelenting support and advice. We also thank Krista Jarrell, Peer Review Coordinator from the Neurosurgery Editorial Office, for her unparalleled dedication to this volume throughout the year.

We welcome Dr Ali Rezai as the new President of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons and look forward to seeing you all in San Francisco in 2013.

Copyright © by the Congress of Neurological Surgeons