Institutional members access full text with Ovid®

75 Years of Neurosurgery at the University of Minnesota

Haines, Stephen J. MD*; Rockswold, Gaylan L. MD, PhD*,‡; Maxwell, Robert E. MD, PhD*,§

doi: 10.1227/NEU.0000000000000311
Legacy-Institutions and People

Neurosurgery began as a distinct discipline at the University of Minnesota in 1937 with the appointment of William Peyton as head of the division. Under the leadership of Peyton, Lyle French, and Shelley Chou, the Department rose to national prominence. Substantial contributions included the introduction of dexamethasone to the practice of neurosurgery by Galicich and French, early procedures for the transthoracic correction of spinal deformity, important contributions to the understanding of brain death, the early laboratory work that led to the development of nimodopine, one of the first intraoperative magnetic resonance imaging facilities in the United States (1996), and the training of many academic neurosurgeons and department chairmen. The challenges of managed care and more recent changes in the health care system have been met, and the Department is a thriving clinical, educational, and research center for 21st-century neurosurgery.

ABBREVIATIONS: AANS, American Association of Neurological Surgeons

ISN, integrated service network

NIH, National Institutes of Health

*Department of Neurosurgery, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota;

Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis, Minnesota;

§University of Minnesota, Emeritus, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Correspondence: Stephen J. Haines, MD, Department of Neurosurgery, University of Minnesota, 420 Delaware St. SE, MMC 96, D429 Mayo Memorial Bldg., Minneapolis, MN 55455. E-mail:

Received October 17, 2013

Accepted January 29, 2014

Copyright © by the Congress of Neurological Surgeons