Assistance Directory: Where to go for more information on the topics discussed in this issue of Neurology Now and for a directory of patient advocacy organizations.

Neurology Now:
doi: 10.1097/01.NNN.0000421664.19038.54
Departments: Resource Central

    For a full listing of patient organizations, go to neurologynow.com

    Figure. No caption a...

    HELP FOR ALL NEUROLOGIC DISORDERS

    American Academy of Neurology Web site aan.com/patients 1-800-879-1960

    American Brain Foundation CureBrainDisease.org 1-800-879-1960

    CaringBridge® (Free, personalized Web sites to support your health journey) Caringbridge.org 651-452-7940

    National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke ninds.nih.gov

    Well Spouse Association wellspouse.org 1-800-838-0879

    ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE

    Alzheimer's Association alz.org 1-800-272-3900

    Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center alzheimers.org 1-800-438-4380

    Alzheimer's Foundation of America alzfdn.org 1-866-232-8484

    Association for Frontotemporal Degeneration theaftd.org 1-866-507-7222

    Cognitive Dynamics cognitivedynamics.org 205-759-1585

    ATAXIA

    National Ataxia Foundation ataxia.org 763-553-0020

    AUTISM

    Autism Society of America autism-society.org 1-800-3AUTISM (1-800-328-8476)

    Autism Speaks, Inc. autismspeaks.org 212-252-8584

    Global and Regional Asperger Syndrome Partnership grasp.org 1-888-474-7277

    BRAIN TUMOR

    American Brain Tumor Association abta.org 1-800-934-2873

    National Brain Tumor Society braintumor.org 1-800-934-2873

    CHIARI MALFORMATION AND SYRINGOMYELIA

    American Syringomyelia and Chiari Alliance Project asap.org 1-903-236-7079 1-800-ASAP-282 (272-7282)

    Chiari and Syringomyelia Foundation csfinfo.org 1-718-966-2593

    DYSTONIA

    American Dystonia Society 310-237-5478 dystonia.us

    Dystonia Foundation dystonia-foundation.org 1-800-377-DYST (1-800-377-3978)

    Spasmodic Torticollis spasmodictorticollis.org 1-888-445-4588

    EPILEPSY AND SEIZURES

    Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy (CURE) CUREepilepsy.org 312-255-1801

    Epilepsy Foundation epilepsyfoundation.org 1-800-332-1000

    Epilepsy Therapy Project epilepsy.com/epilepsy_therapy_project 540-687-8077

    SeizureTracker SeizureTracker.com, info@seizuretracker.com

    HEADACHE/MIGRAINE

    American Headache Society Committee for Headache Education (ACHE) achenet.org 856-423-0043

    Migraine Research Foundation migraineresearchfoundation.org 212-249-5402

    National Headache Foundation headaches.org 888-NHF-5552 (888-643-5552)

    HUNTINGTON'S DISEASE

    Hereditary Disease Foundation hdfoundation.org 212-928-2121

    Huntington's Disease Society of America hdsa.org 1-800-345-HDSA (1-800-345-4372)

    Huntington's Disease Youth Organization hdyo.org

    HYDROCEPHALUS

    Hydrocephalus Association hydroassoc.org 1-888-598-3789

    INFECTIOUS DISEASE

    Encephalitis Global encephalitisglobal.org

    MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS

    MSFriends msfriends.org 1-877-MSFRIENDS

    MSWorld msworld.org

    Multiple Sclerosis Association of America msassociation.org; 1-800-532-7667

    Multiple Sclerosis Foundation msfocus.org 1-800-225-6495

    National Multiple Sclerosis Society nationalmssociety.org 1-800-FIGHT-MS (1-800-344-4867)

    MYASTHENIA GRAVIS

    Myasthenia Gravis Alliance MGdirect.org 1-800-643-0808

    Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America myasthenia.org 1-800-541-5454

    NEUROMUSCULAR DISEASES

    ALS Association alsa.org 1-800-782-4747

    Charcot-Marie-Tooth Association charcot-marie-tooth.org 610-499-9264, 1-800-606-CMTA (2682)

    Kennedy's Disease Association kennedysdisease.org 559-658-5950

    Moebius Syndrome Foundation moebiussyndrome.com 1-660-834-3406

    Muscular Dystrophy Association mda.org 1-800-FIGHT-MD (1-800-344-4863)

    Neuropathy Association neuropathy.org 212-692-0662

    Spastic Paraplegia Foundation, Inc. sp-foundation.org 1-877-773-4483

    PAIN

    American Pain Foundation painfoundation.org 1-888-615-PAIN (7246)

    PARKINSON'S DISEASE & MOVEMENT DISORDERS

    American Parkinson Disease Association apdaparkinson.org 1-800-223-2732

    Foundation for PSP, CBD and Related Brain Diseases curepsp.org 1-800-457-4777

    International Essential Tremor Foundation essentialtremor.org 1-888-387-3667

    The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research michaeljfox.org 1-800-708-7644

    Lewy Body Dementia Association lbda.org 404-935-6444

    National Parkinson Foundation parkinson.org 1-800-327-4545

    Parkinson's Disease Foundation pdf.org 1-800-457-6676

    Tremor Action Network tremoraction.org 510-681-6565

    WE MOVE wemove.org 212-875-8312

    RARE DISEASES

    The Children's Rare Disease Network crdnetwork.org 1-949-248-7273

    The National Institutes of Health Office of Rare Diseases Research rarediseases.info.nih.gov 1-301-402-4336

    National Organization for Rare Disorders rarediseases.org 1-203-744-0100, 1-800-999-NORD (6673)

    SLEEP

    National Sleep Foundation sleepfoundation.org 703-243-1697

    STROKE

    American Stroke Association strokeassociation.org 1-888-4STROKE (478-7653)

    National Aphasia Association aphasia.org 1-800-922-4622

    National Stroke Association stroke.org 1-800-STROKES (787-6537)

    TOURETTE SYNDROME

    Tourette Syndrome Association tsa-usa.org 718-224-2999

    TRANSVERSE MYELITIS

    International Disability Coalition disabilitycoalition.org

    Transverse Myelitis Network transversemyelitis.ning.com

    Transverse Myelitis Association Myelitis.org 614-766-1806

    TRAUMA

    Brain Injury Association of America biausa.org 1-800-444-6443

    Brain Trauma Foundation braintrauma.org 1-212-772-0608

    TRIGEMINAL NEURALGIA

    The Facial Pain Association fpa-support.org 1-800-923-3608

    Living with TN livingwithtn.org

    ©2012 American Academy of Neurology